Book Review: Every Day

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

.

×××

Title: Every Day

Author: David Levithan

Published: August 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Time it took me to read: 22/01 – 05/02

Rating: 4 out of 5

×××

“A” wakes up in a different body each day. It’s been like that every day of its life. It is neither a he or a she, black nor white nor Asian nor Hispanic, it is no ones child or sibling. It is a parasite that lives one day of someone’s life and then moves on to the next while leaving the previous person slightly dazed about the last day’s events. The only thing that is constant in A’s life is that he only ends up in bodies in the general area (up to 4 hours away from the previous person) and they always the same age he is.

We meet “A” when he wakes up in the body of Justin, a regular, nothing special, boy. On most days, he tries to get through the days as the people he possesses usually do. Except today is different. He doesn’t know what exactly but somewhere during the day he asks Justin’s girlfriend to take off for the day. Skip school and head to the beach. He connects with Rihannon, Justin’s girlfriend, in a way that he has never connected with a person before. Even after he left Justin’s body, he can’t seem to stop thinking about her. He has to see her again.

×××

I found this book on goodreads when browsing around for new things to read. It stood out to me. The premise is quite unique I think, and I had to read it as soon as possible.

I really liked this book. It wasn’t life changing or anything but it was different and interesting. I kind of hope that the author will decide to write a sequel because there is much more to say about A.

What I like most was the description of all the different people whose body he borrows for a day. All shapes and sizes, genders, colors, sexualities. Everyone had a different story. The only constant in the story is Rihannon.

A’s relationship with Rihannon was not necessarily what made the book great for me. I thought she was a little too accepting of the whole body changing thing. I did like Rihannon though, she was an actual realistic girl. She is the type of girl who you’d like to be your friend. It was how A lives ‘it’s’ life that made it a good read. The concept on it’s own was so original that the story didn’t even matter that much. Is that weird?

Anyway, I recommend this book for everyone who is looking for something new and different with an interesting twist. I rate it a 4 out of 5. I’m really liking David Levithan, I first discovered him through his collaboration with John  Green in the book Will Grayson, Will Grayson. Also a book that I really recommend.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

