Book Review: Forbidden

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.

×××

Title: Forbidden

Author: Tabitha Suzuma

Published: May, 2010 by Definitions

Time it took me to read: 27/01 – 31/01

Rating: 3 out of 5 

×××

Argh finally getting around to doing this review.. I have procrastinated on this for way too long. Especially since I have another Book Review on my to do list after this one. Shoot me now, I’m a bad blogger. Anyway lets just dive in here.

Lochan and Maya come from a broken home. Including them, there are 5 kids in the house and no parents. Technically, their mom is the one who is taking care of them after their dad left but aside from one or two nights a week when she sleeps of a hangover or the occasional checks to pay the bills, she is nowhere to be seen. It falls to Lochan and Maya to keep the house running, make sure everyone is fed and has clean clothes and then also try to do their own schoolwork. Lochan is especially struggling with this. He is the oldest and takes a lot of the responsibility, acting like a substitute father for most of the time. At school, he deals with crippling social anxiety that make him unable to speak in class at all. The only positive thing in his life is Maya, his 16 year old sister who tries to help out as much as she can.

When their mom starts showing up less and less, Lochan and Maya have no choice but to lean on each other even more to prevent one or both of them to collapse and have a breakdown. However, this very dependent relationship turns into something else when Maya gives in to her desires and kisses Lochan. They start a relationship that is both dangerous for their family and highly confusing. Will they make it out?

×××

I picked this book up at the library after seeing it on Goodreads and doing a double take. How many books about sibling incest that isn’t rape do you know? Not many, I’m guessing. It’s a very risky subject and if not done right it could be very damaging and offensive. However, the reviews were great so I decided to give it a go.

I think that the whole time I read this book I had an eyebrow raised in skepticism. Now, it’s not bad, it’s really not, but it’s not as good as the reviews made it out to be either. I wasn’t bawling at the end. In fact, I disliked the ending. It was overly dramatic and not very realistic I think. I wasn’t bawling in a corner like other reviewers.

However, I did like how the story was build up. I was afraid that the author would have chosen for a storyline where the brother and sister are already in a relationship when we start reading but that’s not the case. We see them grow closer and discover feelings that they shouldn’t be having and because she switches points of view throughout the book, we can see it for both Maya and Lochan. We see them struggling with trying to keep it in at first, then limiting themselves and finally keeping it all hidden. It was a good development, I think, like that could happen for real.

Even though the subject is very risky, it’s not a very memorable book for me. I wasn’t that impressed and I will probably never read it again. I rate this book a 3 out of 5. Not good, but not bad either. I would recommend this to you if the subject intrigues you but if you feel squeamish around graphic descriptions of incestuous relationships, steer clear.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

1 thought on “Book Review: Forbidden”

  1. I’ve read quite a few,Only two ended badly. One has the siblings escape to another country to be together. For some twisted reason, I applauded them.

Leave a Reply

