Nashville, Tennessee – Au Pair Adventures

So… I’ve been gone for a while huh?

I’m so sorry. I’m so behind. I think I owe you 2 reviews even. Bad Emma.

Also, look who’s back to their old theme. I needed a change. So sue me.

But let me start making it up to you by updating you on my life. Because I have exciting things to tell you about.

Last weekend me and four other girls went to Nashville, Tennessee. It. Was. Amazing. I loved it so much and I didn’t want to leave and now that I’m back in Chicago and in the snow, I just wanna go back.

We left on Friday night, we got on the megabus as 10:30 from Union Station in Chicago. And after about nine and a half hours we finally arrived in Nashville. Let me tell you, that’s a long bus ride. It was good that it was overnight and we could sleep for most of the time. Another good thing was that there were little enough people on that bus that every one of our group could have 2 seats to themselves. Which was needed so we could stretch out a little bit.

Except of course me, because I’m that lucky. Somewhere after passing Memphis, Indiana I suddenly woke up to a guy sitting next to me, fast asleep. When I say sitting next to me, I mean that he was leaning heavily against me and at some point put his head on my shoulder. I had to violently shake him off but it was kinda funny. Once my friends woke up we had the best time laughing at him. What we didn’t understand was why the people in the back of the bus were also laughing at this guy. That is until he finally woke up and realized that he was in the wrong seat. Turns out that somewhere in the night he woke up and went to the bathroom but then was so out of it that he couldn’t find his own seat and for some random reason chose me to sit next to. I must look approachable when I’m asleep or something.

Anyway, after a long bus ride, we finally arrived in Nashville. Unfortunately for us it wasn’t the best first impression. We were dropped at this empty rundown parking lot in a not too nice looking neighborhood. The sky was gray and -get this- as soon as we got off the bus it started snowing. SNOWING!! Can you believe it? We were running from the snow!

First look at Nashville
First look at Nashville

We ordered a cab who took us to the hostel. It looked a bit weird , just a plain red door in the side of a building. But the inside was awesome. The kind of hostel you would want to stay at. It had a huge common room with a pool table and a piano and computers and board games and a big kitchen that we could all use. If you’re ever in Nashville and need a hostel to stay at, I definitely recommend the Nashville Downtown Hostel. It’s really cool, the rooms are clean and the people are awesome. Not to mention that it’s literally next to Broadway, where all the action is.

After we checked into the hostel we went to have breakfast at a place called Union 147. It was very American and for the first time in my life I ordered a breakfast with baked potatoes. I say ordered because I didn’t eat them. I am just not able to see potatoes as a breakfast food and gave them to my friend. After having breakfast, we walked towards the Country Music Hall of Fame Museum. By then the sun had broken through and it was turning out to be a very nice day. On the way we stopped to buy some souvenirs. I, of course, spent way too much money but who cares, once in a lifetime right? I got a hoodie, a cap that says Nashville, a key chain and some postcards.

Photobombed by my friend Saskia
Photobombed by my friend Saskia

The museum was pretty amazing. I saw and heard a lot of cool things. It’s pretty hard to describe and I don’t really want to upload 50 pictures on here so you’re just going to have to take my word for it. Or better yet, go there yourself!

After the museum we went to have lunch at the Hard Rock Cafe that was right around the corner from our hostel. We went by a little automated cart, which was hilarious. It was a little bigger than a golf kart and we had to hold on tightly so that we wouldn’t be thrown off while turning corners. It costs like 2 bucks per person and definitely worth it!

joy ride

After lunch we went back to the hotel room to put our bags into our rooms and freshen up a little bit. Because we arrived early in the morning we weren’t able to get into a room immediately so when we arrived back in the hostel at about 3:3o pm we had to take everything up then. We had a little room with two bunk beds, one of which was a double bed. I quickly called the top bunk and basically forced the two girls who were left to share a bed. You snooze you lose girls đŸ˜‰

We headed out again at around 5. We were planning to go have dinner at this bar we spotted when we were walking to the museum but it was already almost packed when we got there. So instead we ended up at Honky Tonk Central. Best change of plans, ever. The plan was that we were going to hang out there for a little while until we all got hungry and then leave to find some food and a place to party for the rest of the night. But we didn’t. It was such an awesome place. It has 3 floors and basically when we got tired of one floor, we moved up one. The best part came at the third floor where the Sid Yochim Band was playing. Good music, good people, good friends and you have an amazing night on your hands. The band was very cool and we actually got to hang out with some of the band members after they finished their set at 22:00pm. Very cool people! We had such a good time that we basically forgot to have dinner. Fine with me though, I was having too good of a time to care. If it weren’t for the fact that we were going to have to go back onto the bus at 10:40 am the next morning, we probably would have stayed a lot longer. I didn’t want to leave! But leave we did at around 12:30 am and headed back to the hostel where we basically all crashed into sleep.

The next morning was pretty uneventful. We got breakfast and headed to the bus. Then there was another 9 hour bus ride. This time in a packed bus, so no stretching out for us! We were all very sad to leave. The sun was shining so warm in Nashville that I actually could take off my jacket and wear sunglasses. The image of the warmth was seared into my brain when the landscape changed from sunny to snowy as the road progressed.

I miss Nashville very much and I’m going to try my best to actually go back there. I am actually a little homesick for Music City! So I’m just sitting here in my Nashville hoodie and Nashville cap thinking back on all the awesomeness that managed to happen in the one day we were actually in the city. All in all not a bad way to spend my second free weekend. Man, can’t believe I’ve only been here for 2 months. Feels so much longer!

I am loving life right now. I never in a million years thought that this could be me; living in America, visiting amazing cities with my friends. It’s amazing how things can turn out. You never know where the road is going to take you.

Broadway.. Where the action is
Broadway.. Where the action is

1902855_10201502683196998_1170209233_n

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

3 thoughts on “Nashville, Tennessee – Au Pair Adventures”

Leave a Reply

