The Perfect Score! – Au Pair Adventures

So I need to update you guys on a few things.

Last week I started my Ethics class and I am so glad that I picked it. It is definitely something that I won’t get bored with. We read academic articles and a lot of the class is discussion based. And more than that, it’s material that I’ve never really studied before. So yay!

The schedule is loaded though; we read an article every week (okay that’s not so bad, I used to read 4 articles a week) and we have a quiz every week. We have a midterm in April and a Final in May. The period after the midterm is going to be most interesting as our homework will entail watching movies and an episode of Law & Order: SVU. We’ll also be discussing more interesting topics like Abortion and Same-Sex Marriage. I’m looking forward to it.

1557264_10201356272856831_1715836464_o

1529804_10201356272816830_1212300821_o

Anyway, so last Thursday we had a quiz about the required reading and today I got the results. I actually got 5 out of 5 points for it. Made me feel great. I am a great student, you know? The question was what the difference is between Relativism and Divine Command Theory. Not too hard if you read the definition. But still, I’m proud of myself. Can you answer the question? Any Philosophers in the room?

Then after class today, I finally went and got my driver’s license sorted out. This entails about an hour of looking over the instruction manual to learn about the traffic rules and road signs and basically hope for the best. It was kinda nerve wrecking the whole process, especially when they said that I didn’t have the right paperwork. You had to bring 2 pieces of mail so they can be sure that you actually live at that address and I brought two documents from the Au Pair agency that stated that I would be living at the address where I’m at now. And at first the guy was like ‘yeah we can’t take this’ and I was like ‘are you sure, because I don’t necessarily receive mail in the US so it’s gonna be hard for me to get that done’ and he was looking at me like I had 3 heads, I swear. But seriously, I don’t pay rent, I don’t pay bills, I don’t pay the phone bill, I don’t have insurance on this address only on my Dutch address.. what would I be getting mail for? Anyway, in the end he was like *biggest sigh in the history of the universe* ‘okay we’re gonna accept this’. Turns out that the same dude would later also be the one who would administer my practical exam. That was only slightly awkward.

After that it was time for the written test. Twenty multiple choice questions and twenty road signs that I had to answer and identify. And guess what? I had a perfect score!! ZERO mistakes! Yay me. Two occasions to be proud of myself in 1 day. I was walking on air by then ^_^. Of course, the practical after that was as nerve wrecking as the written had been but in the end I passed all the same.

And now I’ve got my Illinois drivers license! Another thing crossed off from my bureaucratic to-do list. Only thing left is opening a bank account.

It’s so cool to have a US driver’s license. It’s a bit surreal. It’ll be great to have when I’m back in the Netherlands. Love it.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

