Ethics! – Au Pair Adventures

american-flag-backgrounds

 

Oh what’s that? Yeah I figured I might as well use the banner that I created for this series. *smacks forehead* working 45 hours a week is bad for my mental capacities.

Which is funny because today’s post is about the class that I will be taking to fulfill my educational requirement. I talked about this is my last post. In there I said that I was having doubts about what I should do; a weekend class in another city or a proper course at the local college. At the time I was leaning towards the weekend course because I could only do entry-level courses at the college and I needed to do a placement test.

But then I looked into the weekend classes and saw that the costs are unbelievably high. You obviously need to pay for a flight there, which isn’t cheap. But then there’s this: the classes start Saturday at 7am and end Sunday at 5 pm. Which means that you need to arrive on Friday and leave on Monday and have to pay for the hotel those 2 nights yourself. And that was just a bit over budget. Unfortunately. I’m still hoping I get to visit the cities that I was interested in on my own. I was mainly looking at San Fransisco and New Orleans. Gotta be options like hostels and stuff like that, right? Eugh, I have problems with spending my savings. It’s like sacred. Do you guys have this problem?

Anyway, so I decided to do a course at the college. Which meant I had to do a placement test in reading, writing and math. I wasn’t worried about reading and writing at all, but math.. well.. *gulp*. So for the last week I’ve been sporadically practicing with the practice tests they put on the website and when that went okay, I thought I’d be ready. That’s why I was pretty self-assured when I went in today to finally do the test.

Surprise, surprise, the actual test was NOTHING like the practice test. No fractions and percentages and all the other stuff that I had practiced. No, it was solely advanced Algebra. Which I’ve never had in my life. We learn basic Algebra briefly in high school but that’s it. Man.. let’s just say it didn’t go very well. I don’t know exactly what I scored (they don’t give exact scores for the math test) but I am pretty sure that it wouldn’t be a pass. I did score well on Writing (99%) and Reading (92%). I’m fairly proud of that.

After that, I went to actually register and do the last bit of red tape. And now it’s all sorted out. I just need to pay the tuition, which falls well in the $500 educational budget that my hostfamily needs to pay, within the next few days. I’m actually really chuffed about the tuition. It’s not low or anything, it’s actually pretty high, but at least I don’t have to pay extra myself (anything over that $500, I would be paying). Now, it is true that I should do another 3 credit course later in the year but I may decide not to do that.

There wouldn’t be any real consequences for me if I don’t do the full 6 credits. The only catch is that I wouldn’t be able to extend or return as Au Pair, but that has never been my plan anyway. But still.. don’t tell the agency okay? You never know 😉

Oh right, I need to tell you what I selected!

I chose to do an Ethics course. It’s something that I have had a class in during my Bachelors degree but I figured that it would be interesting. Ethics isn’t a subject that goes bland if you know what I mean. There will always be discussions about what’s ethical and what’s not. I guess it’s not the same thing with studying something like psychology. I mean after you’ve heard about Skinner and Pavlov and Freud a couple dozen times, you wouldn’t feel the need to sit through another Psych 101 class. Lets just hope this will be as interesting as I hope it to be!

I officially start on Tuesday and will have classes every Tuesday and Thursday from 11:00 to 12:15. Which seems incredibly short to me. I’m used to classes being way longer than that. Oh well, cultural differences! Classes will run until May 5th I think. I wonder if I will have an assignment or a test at the end of the course. I guess we will see!

Well, that’s it for today. I’ll keep you updated as things progress.

Oh wait! Yesterday, I finally got my library card sorted and I immediately checked out 4 books that I will never be able to read before the return date but oh well. I love the library here!

1596703_10201319826345691_152192645_o

I was planning on getting Coraline, but I couldn’t find it. So I got Neverwhere instead, it looked so good! A Discovery of Witches was on my list. The Chaos of Stars I picked up on a whim. It’s about Egyptian gods for a change and I thought it looked interesting. I hope it won’t be too Twilight-y. DUFF (Dumb, Ugly, Fat Friend) was a book that caught my eye the very first time I went to the library. I’m curious to see how it’ll turn out.

Ah man.. I love books. Books books books.

 

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

5 thoughts on “Ethics! – Au Pair Adventures”

  1. In American colleges, generally courses have 3 major tests or assignments throughout the entire course. The last test/paper/project (the final) is can be comprehensive and more important than the last few tests/papers/projects but it can also just cover whatever you haven’t covered since the last test/paper/project – depends on your prof.

    Also depending on your prof and where you’re taking the class, you may have little homework assignments throughout. (More likely at a community college but don’t rule it out at a big college!) I’d bet anything part of your grade will either be attendance or participation as well (maybe 5-10%) as ethics is probably going to be a more discussion-based course.

    1. Pfiew sounds like a lot of work! Haha, what did I get myself into. I wonder if it’s going to be very different from what I’m used to back in The Netherlands. Well I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what it’s going to be like.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. OOOOH, I HAVE A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

    Sorry, that is the only thing I have to say. I got too excited by the sight of it and it has erased all my other thoughts.

    Ohh wait, I have one more.

    MATHS. EUGH. With you on that one.

    1. Haha well that promises a lot of good!! I need to hurry up and finish Eleanor and Park already 😛 I want to get started on those library books!

      And yes.. eugh, Maths, indeed. It can go shrivel up and die. Unless you’re into that sorta thing, then go you. But not me. No no no.

  3. I loved Ethics. We specifically did Theological Ethics, and we had an excellent lecturer who loved playing Devil’s Advocate, questioning our preconceptions at every turn. It was an option for one theoretical module for my master’s, but I picked one more in line with my planned research. I just hope you have a good lecturer – the subject can become incredibly boring if you don’t.

    Also, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: it’s ridiculous that someone with a master’s degree have to do placement tests to be accepted for an entry-level course at another university. It’s not as if it’s an Ivy-league school, is it? And why Math when you take a course that has absolutely nothing to do with Math? Enjoy your classes!

Leave a Reply

