Belated Merry Christmas! and Other Stuff – Au Pair Adventures

Before I start off I want to wish you all a HAPPY BELATED CHRISTMAS!! I totally meant to post something yesterday but then I ended up going to see Frozen at the cinema and by the time I came home I was so tired that I could barely keep my eyes open. So I’m sorry for being late but I hope that you all had a very lovely Christmas, wherever you are.

For me Christmas was very good, albeit a bit weird. I mean, you can probably imagine: you’re on the other side of the world from where you normally live, you haven’t really had the chance to talk to your friends and family due to the time difference, you’ve only been here for a few weeks and have only lived with this family for even less than that. And then it’s Christmas, and you’re kind of sitting there and watching the family celebrate, feeling a bit unsure of what to do because it’s not really work but going upstairs to sit in your room by yourself doesn’t seem very attractive. So it’s a tad awkward but good too because you enjoy living here and you get good presents. Well.. you get the picture. Good but a bit weird. Anyway, I had a good time hanging out with the family and they were very generous with their Christmas presents for me! I mean, I’m amazed, I didn’t expect to receive $75 worth of gift cards and some other gifts at all. I’m very thankful =)

But still, Christmas for me is family time and it did trigger a bit of home sickness. Especially since I got here, it’s been one thing after another health wise for me and I’m getting real tired of it. I’m starting to get a bit angry you know? I want to enjoy my time here! And not worry about getting ill or maybe having to see a doctor or something. It’s ridiculous. And on moments like these it feels like I wouldn’t mind going home. Don’t get me wrong: it’s really been awesome here so far. The family I’m living with is beautiful and the kids are amazing and sweet and I’ve met some great people and done some really cool things but then when I get home and go upstairs and sit in my room by myself and I worry that I may not be able to fall asleep tonight because my stomach hurts again, I can’t help but think ‘I miss my home’. And that feeling always hits at night. During the day, it’s all fine, you keep busy and you do fun things and you don’t want to go anywhere. But then the moment you’re alone with your thoughts and none of your friends are online because it’s like 5 am at home, those are the not so fun moments. Oh well.. you get it. Enough whining.

But still, this is as much part of the experience of living here as all the good stuff here and I don’t think it would be fair if I left that out 😉 Anyway! Going to the Mall on Sunday with a friend so that’ll be an experience. I’m guessing you can expect a blog about that soon after. My goal for the day is acquiring some sweaters and men’s hoodies because oh my lord is it cold here. On the worst days it’s like -15 Celsius. What ya doing, weather? You okay? Worst thing is that this is not a temporary thing. Here in Chi-land it’ll stay like this till like April or something. So investing in some warm clothing will be a good thing.

Alsoooooooooo I just watched ‘The Time of the Doctor’ with my friend and I’m somewhere between being in denial and being excited for 12. Actually, feel more sad for Matt Smith than I do for the loss of 11. I definitely felt sadder when 10 regenerated. I cried rivers when he said ‘I don’t wanna go’. Not so much this time but still.. very sad. I did like how they did it though, the final speech. It was very neat. Does anyone know when the new season will start up?

Alright-y then, see you soon my lovelies. Goodnight, goodnight and goodnight.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

7 thoughts on “Belated Merry Christmas! and Other Stuff – Au Pair Adventures”

  1. Still have to watch Time of the Doctor. Hope I can get to it today. I think the new season only starts in August, but at least we have a new Sherlock and Game of Thrones in the meantime.

    Friends of mine live in Minnesota. It gets up to -40 Celsius there, so consider yourself lucky at -15.

    I spent Christmas in Germany one year (exactly 10 years ago, actually), so I know how strange it is to spend it with a family different than your own. I say call yours, even if it’s 5am at home. If they really love you, they’ll take the call 😉

    1. You know what though.. I didn’t really realize it while watching it but now that I think about it, I think the Time of the Doctor was one of the lesser episodes that I’ve watched. You will have to let me know what you think!

      Gosh, Sherlock! Finally! I hope they tell us how he survived! And I still hope I’ll be able to read the books before the next season of GoT. Only got halfway in the second one before I got distracted by life.

      Haha I did skype with my family around Midnight their time on Christmas day so that was good 🙂 and I do message my dad at random times and he always seems to answer even if it’s like 4 am or something. 🙂 Thank god for this modern technology!

      1. I watched the Christmas special last night and I enjoyed it. Yeah, it wasn’t quite as powerful as some other episodes, but then in Matt Smith’s very first one when he called those guys back after preventing them from blowing up the world…he started off with such a high, it would have been difficult to sustain it throughout. In my opinion it was better than The Day of the Doctor, though. But as you mentioned, his leaving wasn’t quite as sad as Tennant’s. I did like how Moffatt managed to tie in elements from Matt’s very first episode and every one of his seasons into this last episode. And his regeneration, breaking the rules one last time…

        I’m sure they’ll tell us how Sherlock survived. He’ll have to gloat about it to Watson, I’m sure. I don’t know if you’ve seen, but BBC has released a mini-episode of Sherlock. It’s on Youtube.

  2. How do you like living in with a family? I don’t think I could live in with a family- i would think its hard to separate home from work? 🙂

    1. Yeah that definitely takes some getting used to and boundry setting on your part. It was hard that first week to really go upstairs and leave them to it when my time was up but as you get more and more tired it gets easier and easier :p in the beginning it’s also pretty weird with eating their food and stuff but these are the things that you get used to pretty quickly 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!!

      1. 🙂 well Im glad you have gotten used to it! I think i’m going to stick with being a live out Nanny. Good luck with your adventures!

Leave a Reply

