On dislocation, slings and Graduation!

Today was my graduation ceremony day! You all must now officially address me as Emma, Master of Science. I mastered that science!

It was pretty cool. Even though the uni decided to do the ceremony individually, we (the students; there were only 5 of us) thought it would be cool if we all were there for each other. So every student had a full house instead of just a couple of family members. All of us got our diploma, duh, a rose, a USB/Pen/James Bond-esq gizmo thing, and a speech by the person who supervised our Master thesis. My supervisor talked about how I was tenacious and determined and a little headstrong but also has a very clear vision and goals. It was pretty cool. I felt very accomplished. ^_^

So today was a good day. Except for the fact that my arm is in a shoulder immobilizing sling because I dislocated my right shoulder last night. It was great, really. See, last winter I slipped on some ice and my laptop bag fell from my shoulder on my arm and it nearly got dislocated then, but it popped right back in. But I guess something got messed up then because when I threw a towel forcefully onto the ground yesterday evening, it popped right out. Pain.

So my mom drove me to the ER/A&E where they took x-rays, gave me painkillers and popped it back in. By then I was pretty out of it so luckily, it didn’t hurt too badly. But I do have to wear this sling for at least a week, even at night for the first few days. It’s a bitch and it hurts and its annoying but oh well, what am I gonna do.

I’ve got one of these

 

I did get scared for a little bit while in the hospital though. Because the nurse had said that if it was dislocated, best case they’d pop it back in and I’d be on my way. Worst case scenario meant surgery. So when the doctor came in and said ‘I’ve got some bad news’, everything flashed before my eyes. No graduation, maybe even no America! But then he said ‘it is dislocated’, and I was like ‘seriously.. that’s like the best thing out of all the possibilities!

Also my mom thought I was really funny after they gave me the pain meds. I always think it’s really important to be pleasant to doctors and nurses and everyone whose job it is to help you so I was sitting there on the hospital bed smiling, being pleasant in my mind. But my mom said I looked like I was totally stoned, smiling all goofy and swaying a little. Looking back, I think I was more out of it than I thought because the doctor had to keep drawing my attention to him by touching my knee so I guess I was drifting pretty badly. It’s funny how you don’t experience it like that!

But I guess the good comes with the bad. I hope the pain is gone soon and I can get back to my life!

But also, I’VE GRADUATED!!

I wrote this post with one hand and it’s a bitch.

 

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

13 thoughts on “On dislocation, slings and Graduation!”

  1. Ohh my gosh you poor thing! That sounds so horribly painful. 😦 Lol for the painkillers though, they make me do super embarrassing things too, there should be a club!

    On the other hand though, megga congratulations for graduating! That’s truly amazing and I wish you all the best. 😀

    1. Haha thank you! It feels a little better now so that’s good. I kinda want to know what I’d be like high on Morphine or something but on the other hand I don’t feel like hurting myself badly enough that I need morphine 😛

      Thank you so much!

  2. Your graduations sounds awesome! I love how individual it was with a speech from your supervisor.

    It’s a shame about the sling though, I hope it didn’t get in the way too much and that you feel better soon. And yay for no surgery! I broke my arm really badly and had to have surgery on it when I was a kid and I turned into a demon child – refused to believe anyone who said it was broken, snapped at the nurses and insulted the doctors so you’re obviously a better person on painkillers than I am!!

    1. It was kinda awesome! It’s really great that a little individual attention is paid to every student. At least it’s not like kthnxbai 😛

      Haha demon child! How old were you? But I guess lots of kids would react like that though! It’s pretty scary being in a hospital, not to mention having to have surgery! I mean, even I was freaked out by the IV and the heart monitor that they put on me 😛

      1. I was 9. I remember vigorously denying that it was broken and I’m fairly certain I only stopped arguing when they put me to sleep. The problem was that I was (and am) an avid viewer of the BBC programme Casualty and on that someone will go to hospital with a broken arm and end up dying or watching as their life falls apart and I was worried that the same would happen to me!

  3. Congratulations on graduating and I hope your shoulder recovers soon! I just discovered your blog today and I’m very glad I did. You have yourself a new follower. 🙂 I look forward to more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

