Book Review: Game of Thrones pt. 1

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

(Goodreads)

×××

Title: A Game of Thrones (A Song of Fire and Ice #1)

Author: George R. R. Martin

Published: August 1996 by Bantam Spectra 

Time it took me to read: Current

Rating: Not sure yet

×××

Okay so since the Fire and Ice series is so immense and even though Game of Thrones is the thinnest book in the series, there is so much to write about. So I thought I’m going to do it in two parts. In this part, I’m going to talk about my growing obsession with both the books and the TV series and how I’m finding the book up till now. In the second part, I’ll talk about the book itself, the writing, the story, the characters and all that. So let’s get to it.

So obviously I’m really late to this part, as usual. I’m so bad at discovering new things on my own it’s insane. I’ve been told by many many people to give the TV show a chance because it’s awesome and epic and brilliant and gory and sex. Before I really got into it a couple of weeks ago, I actually put on the first episode two times before but ended up turning it off before the prologue was over. Even now the “Others” thing doesn’t really speak to me so I found it hard to get into at first. But then when I finally managed to stick with it past those first minutes, I couldn’t stop.

It’s really a fantastic series and I watched all three seasons in a week. It’s a little pathetic.

Anyway, when I was about halfway through the second season, I finally decided to open the book that I bought so many months ago. The reason I hadn’t before is because I was very apprehensive because of the way the book was printed

I mean look at this.. Has the publisher ever heard of paragraphs?

I was expecting pages long descriptions of the landscape and enormous bloody battles. But of course, you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover. It’s honestly so good! I can’t seem to put it down.

Since I finished watching the TV series a couple of days ago, I can’t wait to see/read what happens next. Unfortunately, I will either have to wait ’till next summer or finish the first three books before I can find out anything. Except that one time when I was looking on the Dutch Amazon to find out what the books costs and I accidentally read something that I definitely didn’t want to know yet. Usually I don’t care much about spoilers but about this one I was like ‘noooooooo’. Eugh.

Anyway, I liked the books so much that I bought this yesterday. Even though I definitely didn’t have the money.

Pretty pretty books

Which meant that I had the first book twice, but my father bought the new one from me so that’s all good. And to be honest, it was a bargain. The box set was €30 and the individual books sell for €10 each so I saved money, really. But now the trouble is, I can’t bring all these to the US because they’re too heavy. So I’m going to have to read at least the first 3 or 4 before I leave in December. I got a lot of reading to do. I love it.

As for the story, it’s great. I thought the book would be long and boring but it’s definitely not. Not only is the storyline exciting and epic and funny in some  places, it’s also that the switching between character’s points of view gives new life to the story every time it threatens to get boring. It’s a great solution.

My favourite characters are Tyrion, who I think is very funny and clever and admirable, and Daenerys and her hot hot husband. This is both in the TV show and the book. Emilia Clarke and Jason Momoa are just so damn beautiful though. I think Daenerys doesn’t get enough chapters. I want to read more about her. It’s like 150 pages between Daenerys chapters and I don’t like waiting that long. Give me the Mother of Dragons, dammit!

Daenerys  - Drogo
Just look at them. *sighs*

 

Tell me what you think of the series. Have you seen it? Have you read it? Did you like it? Tell me things!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Game of Thrones pt. 1”

  1. Tyrion is my favourite as well, and Davos, but he only appears a bit later. Don’t worry about Daenerys’s little page time. When you get to book 3 she seriously starts kicking some ass. Arya also becomes a very good character as the story progresses.

    I’ve been taking a break from the series after reading the first three back-to-back (to-back), but I think it might be time to start with number 4.

Leave a Reply

