Book Review: Eight Mile Island

Dylan James is used to boarding schools. He’s been thrown out of so many in the past two years, he’s lost count. So when an elite academy in Oregon offers him a place, he doesn’t think he’ll be there more than a week.

But Eight Mile Island isn’t like anywhere Dylan has been before. In the dense forests around the school, there are things that look human but aren’t.

Things that are hungry, and waiting…

But that’s the start of the mysteries, mysteries that mean Dylan may never escape.

Even if he wants to…

Welcome to Eight Mile Island

×××

Title: Eight Mile Island

Author: Tony Talbot (Goodreads | Twitter | Blog)

Published: 2012

Time it took me to read: 19 – 21 August

Rating: 3.8 / 5 

Dylan has been kicked out of so many schools, he lost count. Truth is that he’s bored. He has always been so much smarter than his classmates (he has an IQ of 150 you know?) that he finds other stuff to do while they are slaving away over their homework. So when his mother gets a letter from a highly exclusive school for the smart and the rich, she jumps at the opportunity to send Dylan there.

Of course, Dylan is not happy about the idea. The school is on a secluded Island, surrounded my an electrical fence. But is it to keep the students in or to keep something else out? Both options worry Dylan. It won’t be so easy to run away from this one.

But things start to get worse when weird things start happening at school. Why did he have to have a tracker inserted in his skin? Whats with his sudden obsession and aversion to hands? And most important of all, what is up with the sudden holes in his memory? He can remember what he had for breakfast six years ago but now he suddenly can’t remember what he did last night.

When Dylan goes to investigate, everything goes from bad to worse. And he will discover things that will change his life forever.

×××

From the moment I read the blurb, I was excited about reading this book. So I was very happy when I won it in a giveaway on Becky’s blog many months ago. I’m glad that I finally got around to reading it.

When I first read about this book, it reminded me of Anthony Horowitz’s Groosham Grange, which is also about a troubled kid going to a creepy boarding school on an island. But while Groosham Grange is a children’s book, this is definitely not.

From the first page on you are caught in a whirlwind of excitement, action, horror, and mysteries. When I was reading I had one thought continuously running through my head: what the Hell is going on here?!

On every page There are a lot of twists and turns that keep you guessing and every new bit of information that is revealed, more questions pop up. It really keeps you on your toes. It isn’t until the very end that the real answers are given, and let me tell you: it is shocking and amazing but still believable if that makes sense. It is not like the story suddenly takes such a turn that you get the feeling of ‘yeah, right’. It fits well into the story.

The only issue I have with Eight Mile Island is that it is too short. It is a really good book but I would have liked some more backstory. As it is, a little backstory is given but it could have been more expanded a bit more. Also, as a whole the story had the potential to be longer than it was. For example, I would have liked to know more about Keiko and Driscoll, that organisation, and about the school and it’s purpose. I would definitely have liked to know more about the others. I just want.. More. Hey Tony, how about a sequel? Maybe?

On the whole I give Eight Mile Island a 3.8 out of 5. Weird number I know. It is such an exciting read that you just can’t put down. It is well written and easy to read. I really recommend this one if mystery and action is your thing! Give it a shot!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Eight Mile Island”

  1. Yay, glad you enjoyed the book. The best part of it for me was the fast pace, it never stalled for a moment! I have to agree with you on the backstory too, there could have been more of it which would have tipped the novel up to that next level. 🙂

    1. The fast pacing was indeed one of the things I liked most about it. That and the feeling of wanting to figure out what is happening! I loved that you don’t get any definite answers until the very end 😀

Leave a Reply

