A-Z Book Survey

As those of you who read my blog somewhat regularly know, I love talking about and answering questions about books. When I first started blogging in I did the 30 day book challenge (which I got from Becky who’s doing the challenge now) and I really got me hooked on blogging because I enjoyed talking about the books I love so much. So, when saw this survey on both Black ‘N Write and ArtsandYouthLove, I just had to do it. Let’s get to it, shall we?

Author You’ve Read The Most Books From:

I had to think about that.. It was either J.K. Rowling or Stephen King. I counted and the winner is Stephen King by a landslide (11 – 7). I wish J.K would write a second generation series. Can you imagine?! *Fangirling*

Best Sequel Ever:

Boy, oh boy. How do I answer that one? Chamber of Secrets? Sea of Monsters? I think I’m going to have to be a bit unorthodox here and go for Shopaholic takes ManhattanUnfortunately, I haven’t written any reviews for the series yet but it’s my favourite non-supernatural, non-YA series. Very chick lit but so yummy. Becky’s adventures make you laugh and cringe and cry and fall in love all at the same time. By the way, the movie was not nearly good enough. The books are so so so much better! My favourite is Shopaholic takes Manhattan, closely followed by Shopaholic and Baby.

Current Reading:

I’ve been reading the Art of Fielding for a while and although it’s a great and wonderful book it is taking me forever. It’s the sort of book that when you read it you read 50 pages at once but then when you put it down, you don’t pick it up again for like a week. Argh, I keep indulging myself with these easy-to-read YA books instead of reading what I should be reading.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

I don’t really have one. I  mostly read while in bed before I go to sleep so I don’t usually have a drink with me while I’m reading. If I drink anything it’s water.

E Reader or Physical Book?

I prefer physical books but lately I’ve been reading a lot of E-books as well. Because I’ll be in the US for a year, I needed an e-reader because I won’t be able to (1) bring a lot of books with me and (2) take all the books that I buy in the course of a year back with me. Seriously, I’d  have to have one or two extra suitcases just for books.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School:

Hmmm…. let me think about that one.. I’m going to have to say Emmett from Twilight. He is 100%  my type and a tiny sliver of light in the sea of I’m sorry, what?! 

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance:

Divergent series definitely. I was putting off reading it because I had read a lot of YA/supernatural series lately and I didn’t feel like getting into a new one. That’s also the reason I haven’t read The Mortal Instrument series yet even though I probably should.

Hidden Gem Book:

Okay so when I was younger (somewhere between 12 and 14) I discovered a writer called Kate Cann and got addicted to her books. Especially her book called Spanish Holiday (or Fiesta in Dutch). It’s about a girl named Laura who goes on holiday with 3 friends, Tom and Ruth who are a couple and Laura’s beautiful best friend Yaz. When they find a place to stay for a while they meet the gorgeous Juan. Laura sees that Yaz is determined to get him but when Juan confesses that he’s not in love with Yaz but with Laura, everything changes. I loved this book so much then because I always felt like the ‘Laura’ in the group, waiting for a boy to pick me over my beautiful friends.

Important Moment in Your Reading Life:

The summer of 2010 when I finally made it through my first Stephen King book (‘Cell’) and for the first time really discovered what an amazing writer he is. I pretty much started hoarding his books after that. My unhealthy hoarding tendencies supported by my then (now ex) boyfriend who got me like 10 SK books for no reason. So many pretty books. *sigh*

Just Finished:

I’m on the brink of finishing Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth. The day before yesterday I finished Percy Jackson and the Titan’s curse.

Kind of Books You Won’t Read:

There’s nothing I absolutely won’t read, I’ll give anything a shot.

Longest Book You Ever Read:

I’m afraid I’m going to have to say HP & OotP. It was very long..

Major Book Hangover Because of:

That’s probably one of Jodi Picoult’s books. They always leave me in need for a bit of recovery after I finished reading. The worst ones probably were from 19 Minutes and My Sister’s Keeper (THEY SCREWED UP THE MOVIE ENDING OMG I’M STILL SO MAD!)

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Two. But my dream is to cover one entire wall with bookshelves when I get my own apartment and just fill it all the way up. That’s another reason why I prefer physical books over e-books, I love looking at them. I could just stare at my books for hours.

One book you have read multiple times:

Confessions of a shopaholic. I’ve read it so many times that I put the dates that I finished reading on the back cover so I could keep track. It’s very amusing.

Preferred Place to Read:

In bed. Or in public transport. That’s probably the only places that I really read. I’m not much of a couch reader.

Reading Regret:

I don’t really regret regret it but if I could go back I probably wouldn’t have bought Daddy’s little girl by Julia Latchem-Smith. I got interested in this sorta memoir genre after reading the books by the Pelzer brothers but I couldn’t finish this book. I don’t know why.

Series You Started and Need to Finish:

Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The Selection and Divergent.

Three of Your All-Time Favorite Books:

And then there were none – Agatha Christie 

The Shining – Stephen King

Changes – Jim Butcher (Part of the Dresden Files series)

Unapologetic Fan Girl For:

John Green. I would probably die if I ever met him. Can you say Idol?

Very Excited for This Release More Than All Others:

Confession: I’m very bad with releases. I usually don’t discover stuff until they’re already an absolute hype.

Worse Bookish Habit:

Starting and never finishing classic books. 1984, Wuthering Heights, Catch-22, Jane Eyre, the Lord of the Rings, Oliver Twist, Mansfield Park.. I could probably go on..

X-Marks The Spot (Start at the top-left of your shelve and count to the 27th book):

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

Your Latest Book Purchase;

Ahem.. official.. purchase? Insurgent. 

ZZZ Snatcher Book ( A book that kept you up wayyy late)

A lot of books keep me up way late. The first one that ever did though was HP & HBP. I remember clearly it being 5 am and crying when Dumbledore died.

Ahh that was so much fun! Tell me your answers or if you’re going to do the survey yourself, link me so I can see what you said! I need to do things like this more often.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

10 thoughts on “A-Z Book Survey”

  1. That’s strange. This post didn’t show up in my reader. I only found it thanks to facebook.

    You’re unambitious with your wall full of bookshelves. I want an entire room covered in books. Even the door must be a swinging shelf. If it can be more that one story it will be great. Like the library in Disney’s Beauty & the Beast. Best part of that movie.

    There’s another book survey on my blog if you’re interested 😉

    1. Really? That’s strange! Maybe that’s why my views and likes have dropped so fast the last few days :/ hmm..

      The library is my favourite part, too. Maybe I’ll marry someone incredibly rich who can provide me with such a thing. A whole room lined with bookshelves would be incredibly awesome though. *swoon*

      I’ll check out your survey!

    2. I love that part as much as Belle and The Beast. Also, I just checked out your survey. The poetry question is tempting me to do the survey, but I think I’m still getting over the other survey I did.

Leave a Reply

