Book Review: Insurgent (Divergent #2)

One choice can transform you, or destroy you. Every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves, and herself, while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love

(Goodreads)

×××

So, after reading (devouring) Divergent, I couldn’t wait to start reading Insurgent. I have to say that this series I have read in a while. I swear it has me hooked.

We left off in Divergent at Amity where Tris and four are hiding out for a while. But we know that that’s not going to last. I think what’s best about this book is that a lot happens but it doesn’t feel rushed. I feel like Roth took enough time to really write out all the scenarios instead of rushing through it. I had that feeling a little with the Beautiful Creatures series. Because of personal circumstances, I haven’t been blogging regularly for a while and it has already been a while since I’ve read Insurgent. But, thinking back, there is so much that I could talk about and it makes me think like ‘did all that really happen in one book?’

But yea, I think that it’s very well written. I mean well written in the way that it’s great storytelling. I usually refrain from commenting on grammar and what not because I have absolutely no authority there and I would probably make a fool of myself :P. But, I felt like the it was well paced, and enthralling.

There were several scenes that I liked, especially. Mainly, the scenes in the Erudite and the bravery that Tris showed there. Can’t really elaborate much on that as I’m not trying to spoil too much.. But I like it. I don’t like Peter though. Little weasel. I don’t care what he did, he’s an evil SOB. Anyway, that was probably my favourite part of the book.

What really made Insurgent stand out to me where the little things that make this series very different from others (like the Hunger Games for instance). For example, we are reminded that Tris is in fact not the big bad warrior hero but rather that she is a 16-year-old girl who might not always know whats best. And it’s not done in a way that makes the adults people who think who know what’s best but really don’t (for example: Coin in the HG) while the ‘hero’ is pretty much the only one who really knows what needs to be done. It’s more like that she realizes that she’s not mature enough or trained enough to lead all these people, there are other people who can do better.

Another thing I liked, which is sorta similar to what I just wrote, is that Four calls Tris out on her recklessness and tells her that her behaviour is not necessarily brave but rather harmful and stupid. It’s another thing that’s different from other YA series where the young heroes are pretty much encouraged to put their lives in danger and be rewarded for it. It works in some series like in Percy Jackson (although I did say in the first review of the PC&O that I would have liked it better if they were 15 or 16 years old or something) but I think it’s good that in this series there’s a character that calls her out on this behaviour.

Like I said before in the Divergent review, this series is similar to the Hunger Games in build-up. The first book is an introduction into the world, the second book is the escalation and the third book is the conclusion. It’s like small, medium, large. And it was very noticeable that even though the events inside the gate were the big issue, the lingering question was ‘what’s outside the gate?!’ and in the last couple of pages we sort of get an answer to that. I have to say that I wasn’t totally surprised when the answer did came. But even so, I am very interested in what Roth is going to do with this information. How exactly did this society get created? What was so bad that they needed to do this? Argh can’t wait for book 3!

All in all, I very much  liked this book and I rate it a 4 out of 5. Extra points for making it a little more real, points off for making it a little predictable. I have gotten very fond of Roth’s world and I like what she’s doing with it. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with in the last book. I hope it’s good!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

1 thought on “Book Review: Insurgent (Divergent #2)”

Leave a Reply

