I’ll stick to text, thank you; Au Pair Adventures pt. 2

american-flag-backgrounds

When I was at the information thingy in Enschede, I was told that I need to make a video where I tell things about myself so that my potential host families can watch it and decide if they like you. When I heard that, I was not a happy bunny. I hate being in front of a camera. Like seriously.

But when I got home I got on it immediately, figuring I could get around it by the clever use of photos and voice overs. And it worked out pretty well. But unfortunately I wasn’t able to totally get away with it.. I really had to put in a clip of myself on screen. This is what I’ve been doing for the last hour and a half. Getting myself pretty. Recording. Re-recording. Cursing myself for being so awkward. Trying again. A lot of sighing. A lot of ‘WHY DOES MY FACE DO THAT, MY FACE DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THAT. WHERE ARE MY EYEBROWS GOING SERIOUSLY’ and other frustrated thoughts. And then when I finally gave up/was satisfied with what I had recorded, I edited the thing. Which was even worse. Eugh.

All through the editing process I felt an amazing amount of ‘Nope’. And a general feeling of blaralefgaeghaofjaoegfafhag. And a blood vow that I will never ever never will try becoming a video blogger. Never. Nope. Not a chance.

I’ll stick to textual blogging, thank you.

The video is now rendering. As soon as it’s done I’ll upload it onto the au pair website and never look at it again. Pffff. And I thought listening to your own voice was bad.

ps. Kudos to me for mastering Sony Vegas Pro in a day. I’m proud of myself. Editing videos is fun as long as I’m not in it.

IMG_20130713_031656
Me in filming mode. The eyes say “kill me now before I destroy this damn camera”.
Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

