Book Review: Goddess

She wrapped her arms around his chest and let the tears come… for Orion, for herself and for Lucas. She had power over the most magnificent forces on Earth, but she still didn’t feel like she had power over the most important thing of all- her own heart. 

Helen’s powers are increasing – and so is the distance between her and her mortal friends. To make matters worse, the Oracle reveals that there is a dangerous traitor lurking among them, and all fingers point to Orion. Still unsure whether she loves him or Lucas, Helen is forced to make a terrifying decision or risk all-out war. 

×××

(review contains spoilers for Starcrossed and Dreamless)

After reading dreamless, I was really excited about reading the third and final instalment of the series: Goddess. I have to say I was a little disappointed.  Dreamless had raised the bar after the not so great first book and I was expecting that it would continue to get better.

That didn’t mean it was bad though, but I think that Angelini overdid it a bit on the Greek Mythology front. Not only does Helen get all the powers, also suddenly it is revealed that Orion and Jason can turn into Animals, just like the Gods could. When I read that I was like.. ehm.. what? It was a bit too much.

There also was a lot of foreshadowing in this book. But not the subtle kind of foreshadowing, the kind of foreshadowing that leaves no room for doubt at all. It was pretty obvious who the traitor and who the tyrant were. Orion’s and Cassandra’s relationship. I was hoping for a plot twist at the end but unfortunately that didn’t happen.

There were some bits I did like, for instance what happened to Luke and Hades, and the flashbacks to Helen’s previous lives. It was very well done and it gave us insight into Greek mythology and which characters are which person’s from history.

I was also a little disappointed with the ending. There was a big battle but Helen doesn’t get a part in it. All the males around her do the fighting and even her mother takes her place, sacrificing herself. When the moment for the big confrontation with Zeus comes, it is resolved rather by wits than power. I had hoped that we got to see how powerful Helen actually is. Very Twilight-y. Also the series end with nothing actually being resolved. I ended with a feeling like ‘so.. and now what?’ Not very satisfying.

Ehm.. I don’t really have much else to say about this book. It wasn’t very good, but it wasn’t very bad either. It was enjoyable for the most part but the end was sorta boring and dragging. Dreamless was definitively the best of the three.

I rate this book a 3 out of 5. Because it was okay, but not great. I was hoping for more.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

