Four books for €0.10

Over the last 5 months I continued working at the school where I did my internship. I did this because during my internship I had started a project and I thought that it was important to continue that project even after my 3 month period was over. So, I offered to stay on for free. Yesterday was the last day that the school was open and my supervisor gave me a gift.

A  €50 book certificate!  Argh!

That’s so much money!! You can buy loads of books with that! So today I immediately set off to Waterstones in Amsterdam to fully enjoy a guilt-free shopping trip. I could pick out whatever I wanted. Let me tell you, it was heaven. I walked around the store for a good long time, picking up books here and there. I wish I could do this every day.

I ended up buying 4 books for the price of 50 euros and 10 cents. So I had to pay only 10 cents myself.

These things are seriously the best ever. If anyone wants to give me a gift, give me a book certificate. Gimmeh.

I can't wait to start reading these!
I can’t wait to start reading these!

Quote is by Roald Dahl.

 

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

5 thoughts on “Four books for €0.10”

  1. We did My Family and Other Animals at school, my senior year. Absolutely loved it. I think it helped that I simply adored my English teacher and she made it interesting, adding all kinds of trivia about Gerald Durrell’s life inbetween. It’s a great read. Enjoy them.

    1. I hadn’t heard about it before today and thought it was a new book as it was under staff recommendations. 😛 The little review said that she laughed out loud a lot while reading it so I’m really looking forward to it!

      1. Google Gerald Durrell. He was a fascinating person. Had a great love for animals which shines through in all his writings. This one specifically is his memoirs of his childhood in Corfu with his mother and siblings. Based on real events, but I reckon with considerable embellishment. He’s probably one of the greatest comedic writers in English, right up there with PG Wodehouse. You might find his English a bit old-fashioned – I’ve struggled with some of his novels, but not this one so much.

Leave a Reply

