Book Review: Dreamless (Starcrossed #2)

Heartbroken and forbidden from being with Lucas, Helen has been tasked with breaking the curse that keeps them apart by killing the Furies. She spends her nights wandering the Underworld in search of them and, tormented by her worst nightmares made real, she’s beginning to suffer from extreme exhaustion on top of her heartbreak.

One night, helen meets another person in the shadowy Underworld: Orion, descended from Adonis and with the power to control desire. Still in love with Lucas but drawn to this seductive stranger, Helen must make a choice that could save her life but break her heart..

×××

(This review contains Starcrossed #1 spoilers!)

A couple of weeks ago I read Starcrossed, the first book in this series. The first thing I thought when I read this is that it is literally a Twilight rehash but instead of  vampires you got Greek Mythology. And although I enjoyed reading the book, I wasn’t all that impressed in the end. Because of this I was a bit hesitant about reading the second book in the series, Dreamless.

I am very glad to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Angelini really stepped it up in this book and although it had a bit of a slow start, it really picked up.

When I started reading it I was afraid that the whole book was going to be dedicated to ‘the forbidden love’ and the ‘omg I lurve him but he’s my cousin so I can’t but if i can’t have him, I will dieeeeee’. It did get me a bit annoyed because she’s so obviously not his cousin and no-one in this book seems to be able to do simple math. Ajax (Hellen’s supposed father) died 19 year ago but Helen is only 17. Hmmmm. Big clue there. But let’s look past that for a moment.

What I’m mostly impressed with is the extend of the use of Greek Mythology and the description of the Underworld throughout the book. And although there is the compulsory love triangle and heartbreak arc in the book, it’s not the main thing. And this is where it start to differ from Twilight. Helen plays a huge role in this story and a lot depends on her. It is very obvious that Angelini put a lot of time in researching Greek Mythology and transforming it into her own original story.

What I like about it is that it doesn’t focus on the ‘big three’ (Zeus, Poseidon & Hades) instead it’s far more than that. Angelini uses minor Gods like Eris and Phobos, of which I’d never heard before so that’s very positive in my opinion.

There was a lot going on in this book, a lot of different loose strings of which only some get resolved in the end. But there isn’t too much going on that you’re losing track of everything. There’s a lot of character development in this book, mostly for Helen and Lucas. Helen finally kicks some ass and becomes a full bad ass at the end. Lucas, we find out, isn’t as perfect as we thought. I’m glad that Helen got to be more than the weak girl with potential. And, unlike in Twilight, Helen actually got to kick some major ass.

I rate this book a 3,75 out of 5, not rating it a full 4 because of the residual Twilight elements. I could definitely see a bit of New Moon in there, but it was completely different at the same time. I was very pleasantly surprised and I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series. I’m glad that Angelini decided to not take the Meyer route in this series and instead create something intricate and original.

Afterthought

Lots and lots and lots of kudos and congratulations and sugar and spice and everything nice to the creator of the covers of this series. Seriously, look at them. I do think these are the prettiest books I have ever seen. The cover for Goddess makes me very excited to read the book.

9721690
Starcrossed #1
Starcrossed #2

Starcrossed #3

 

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

