My Favourite Method of Procrastination / Another Obsession

So as some of you may know, I’m doing my Masters degree in Educational Science. Right now I’m writing my thesis and after that’s done I’ll officially be a ‘Master of Science’. It’s still a bit unreal.

Anyway. As I said, I’m currently writing my thesis and it’s a lot of work. So what I do is I procrastinate. A lot. But it sorta works because I’m too restless to really procrastinate so I’m doing something else but I’ll have this building feeling of guilt/anticipation in my stomach and then when it gets too much I’ll just work anyway. I’m a lousy procrastinator.

I mostly procrastinate by streaming TV series. I now follow so many series that it’s almost become a problem. I’m like obsessed with watching these things and I’m always looking for new shows to watch. It’s not good. Here’s  list of the shows I follow. Which means that I will watch new episodes as soon as they come out:

1. The American Horror Story

2. Breaking Pointe (documentary style series on ballet dancers)

3. Glee

4. Grey’s Anatomy

5. Hell’s Kitchen

6. How I Met Your Mother

7. Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

8. Masterchef USA

9. Masterchef Australia

10. My Kitchen Rules

11. Once Upon a Time

12. Orphan Black (just started watching this yesterday.. it’s awesome!)

13. Pretty Little Liars

14. Psych

15. So You Think You Can Dance – USA (don’t always watch this)

16. Supernatural (<3)

17. Switched at Birth (makes me want to learn sign language)

18. Big Bang Theory

19. The Lying Game

20. The Vampire Diaries

21. True Blood

22. Doctor Who (12th doctor wheeeeeee)

23. BBC’s Sherlock

Concluded series I love

24. One Tree Hill

25. Charmed

26. Gilmore Girls

27. House

28. Make It or Break It

And then there are the series that I’ve been meaning to start watching but I haven’t found the time yet.

– Game of Thrones (Honestly, started watching episode 1 like twice and couldn’t get past the first 10 minutes. I know I should give it a real shot but can’t seem to make myself..)

– Hannibal (the interwebs have been going crazy about this..)

– New Girl

– Breaking Bad

– The Walking Dead (watched episode 1 and then forgot about it)

– Criminal Minds

– Arrow

– Merlin

So.. as you can see, I have a problem. A big big problem. A problem that forces me to do my work at midnight instead of during the day like a normal person. But, I’m still not sorry. I love watching these shows.

What shows do you watch? Or have you been meaning to watch? Do you watch too many things like me? Or don’t you watch anything at all? Tell me!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

12 thoughts on “My Favourite Method of Procrastination / Another Obsession”

  1. What about the UK Masterchef?? I love that one but I’ve avoided all the other versions. Most of my favourites are medically orientated though – ER, Casualty (and it’s spin-off Holby City) from the BBC and House. I’m currently rewatching the last 13 years of Casualty on YouTube. The damn BBC doesn’t show repeats so instead I have to get my fix in 10 minute segments!

    1. Boo for shows only being on YouTube. I watched the whole series of Judging Amy on there (which I forgot to list). Lucky for me the poster put it all in a playlist so it was easier 😛

      I haven’t watched Masterchef UK yet tbh but I should as it’s actually on TV here in the afternoons!

      1. Ah yes I like it when it’s in playlists, I keep getting halfway through an episode and then having to stop and search for part 4 😦 I also used to watch Heartland on YouTube (an awful Canadian programme about a girl who was a kind of horse whisperer and I’m sure they put up whole episodes in one video.

        I love UK MasterChef, I remember watching it as a kid and all the contestants had different coloured tables but it was essentially quite boring. Then it got a huge revamp and brought back a few years ago and now it’s brilliant. Partly because the presenters can be really funny as this youtube video proves: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkkEO7hzALY

  2. Breaking Bad = Crack

    House = More like hot tea, amazing, but you can easily scald your tongue.

    Sherlock = Some other clever analogy

    Don’t think I have watched any of the other series you mentioned… Should I be ashamed? I tend to marathon anime, but Western television is a lot harder for me to marathon. Don’t know why. The longer episodes?

    1. Haha you just got lazy there with Sherlock, didn’t you? What about a ray of sunshine on a rainy day in London?

      You don’t have to be ashamed 😛 Maybe it’s the storylines? How interested are you in love triangles and such? I, on the other hand, have never watched anime no matter how much my brother keeps telling me to watch something or other..

  3. You like so many of the same shows as me 😀 (Grammatically incorrect sentence FTW).
    I do the same thing – procrastinate by watching shows that I love.
    You should definitely watch Merlin – it is one of my favourite shows of all time.
    And why didn’t I see Lost or Dawson’s Creek on this list anywhere D: Haha. You should check those out! 😀

    1. Oh my god I can’t believe I forgot to put Lost on there! Definitely have watched Lost. I think I watched all 6 seasons in like 3 weeks 😛 I haven’t watched Dawson’s Creek because.. I don’t know 😛 It used to be on TV here and I remember snippets from it. Don’t know why I haven’t really watched it though 😛

      Ah, Merlin. Is there really so much sexual tension between Merlin and Arthur (I think) as I’m lead to believe by tumblr? 😛

      1. Lost is my #1 TV show, ever. Seriously. I cried for like an hour when I finished it, haha.
        You have to watch Dawson’s Creek! It is the show I watch when I am in need of comfort 😛

        Hmm, I think people may be projecting a little bit, haha. I see them as more of soulmates/brothers rather than lovers. Their relationship is adorable though. I love those boys ❤

  4. You should check out Suits, Scandal, and White Collar….actually, maybe not since that will make you procrastinate even more 🙂

    Supernatural is one of my favorites as well and Charmed and Merlin. I love the Ghost Whisperer (though the series has ended) too with Jennifer Love Hewitt. I am currently trying to decide if I want to keep watching the True Blood shows (I’ve only seen 3 episodes so far) or just read the books (I read the first book but I can’t decide on which one I like more). And I’m currently have a love/hate relationship with the Game of Thrones shows (I read all the books except Dance of Dragons and my imagination is way cooler). Spartacus is great as well. Heroes was one of my favorites too and I was pissed when the series ended though its last episode wasn’t so great.

    Also there’s Teen Wolf, which has a new episode starting in 2.5hrs on MTV. My guilty pleasure is Millionaire Matchmaker. And I re-watch all Avatar: the Last Airbender episodes almost every week since I watch them after stressful workdays. I used to watch Grey’s Anatomy but stopped after the plane crash in season 8. I was too upset to continue. I need to start watching Once Upon a Time again.

    Cool post! I’ll check out some of the shows you listed. I’m looking for a new show to get hooked on.

  5. Sherlock is just awesome. I can’t handle how awesome it is. i watch both seasons in a week or so. Which episodes did you watch?
    I started with the second season of Doctor Who (with David Tennant) and saw six episodes, but then i got lazy and stopped. It’s brilliant though. I must continue it this summer.
    I also started with the first season of How I Met Your Mother but stopped for some reasons, even though i love it.
    The Walking Dead is also something I need to continue. I watched a couple of episodes from the first season. It’s disgustingly good, if you know what I mean.
    Ugh I have so many things to watch. Oh and my friend told me to watch Once Upon A Time.
    Let’s finish with the exams first then I’ll start with the series :p

Leave a Reply

