Song Title Challenge 3: I Want My Tears Back by Nightwish

The Song Title Challenge

You give me a song title and I write a short story to go along with it without listening to the song beforehand. 

This challenge was given by Cain at No BS Books.

Cain also gave gave me this and this challenge. 

So I was originally planning to so something totally different with this challenge but I couldn’t make it happen. It was too cliché. Then, just now, I got inspiration for this. Not that this is such a masterpiece but I like it. Next challenge up soon. 

×××

Looking back, I wish I could change it all, you know? Be less sensitive, be myself, do the things I wanted to do. I spent so much time trying to be what other people wanted me to be. What I THOUGHT other people wanted me to be, that I forgot who I actually was. And then when I didn’t succeed in being miss popular and being the top student, I would break down. Because what was the use, you know? I put all that time and effort in looking good and being ‘happy’ when I really wanted to sit in the back of the class and read my books, and then it didn’t work. So what had I achieved, really? Nothing. I was a failure. Or so I thought.

Looking back now, I wish I would have done what I wanted to do. Just be myself and stay in on friday night instead of forcing myself to go to the 22nd ‘biggest party of the year’ where Tommy Carmichael would grab my ass and I had to laugh it off. I wish I had just stayed home and watched a movie with my mom and dad. I wish I had played more video games with my little brother. Do the boring stuff

Because in the end, what did it get me? I wasn’t happy while pretending to be that person. I wasn’t even popular or well-liked. It didn’t get me anything in the end, except for a lot of heartbreak.

So you know what, I want my tears back, okay? I’m going to change. Or un-change, really. I’m going to be me. I’m not going to spend one more minute trying to be something I’m not. I’m going to do what I want to do and I’m not going to spend one more tear and one more thought on the things that I ‘should be doing’.

You can’t tell me how to be happy. You can’t tell me what a ‘normal teenager’ should do. I will make my own choices. I will be me. And then I will be happy. Finally.

Source
Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

