Book Review: The Elite (The Selection #2)

The Selection began with thirty-five girls. Now, with the group narrowed down to the Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever – and America is still struggling to decide where her own heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen, who she always thought was the one? America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want – and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

×××

(This review will contain spoilers for the Selection and the Elite)

So.. yea. I got The Elite in the mail today. I started reading it and then I didn’t stop. And now I’ve finished it. God, I don’t know what it is about this series. Honestly, it’s not that good but I just have to keep reading like my life depends on it.

In the Elite only 6 girls remain in the competition to be Pince Maxon’s wife and the new queen. America, who has been Maxon’s favourite from the beginning doesn’t know whether she wants Maxon or if she wants her ex-boyfriend Aspen, who is now guard at the palace. A lot of this book was hopping back and forth between Maxon and Aspen and it really started to confuse and annoy me at a certain point. Here you have America, slowly falling in love with Maxon and promising herself to him basically but then as soon as she gets a glimpse of Aspen she’s all ‘oh I don’t know I need more time’. It was infuriating. One minute she’s kissing Maxon talking about engagement, the next she’s kissing and hugging Aspen thinking that he will be the only one who’s always there for her. Gargh.

And then another thing about Aspen. The readers generally don’t like him ( I think about 98% is ‘Team Maxon’ ) because we’re told from the beginning that they have this epic love. Then he dumps her and she’s heartbroken when she goes to the selection. She starts getting feelings for Maxon and then Aspen just shows up being all ‘I will love you forever’ and we’re just supposed to accept that he does. We weren’t there when they fell in love, we weren’t there for any of the development, we’re just told that they’re super in love and that we should take their word for it. On the other hand, we have Maxon with whom we have been there and we did see how she started to get feelings for him. So I don’t think its weird that the readers prefer Maxon over Aspen. If Kiera Cass wants us to really root for Aspen, she has to give us something that helps us develop our own feelings towards him like we had for Maxon.

As for plot development.. it was okay. The rebels are intriguing, I’ll give you that. What are they looking for and what exactly do they want? You also get a couple of glances behind the scenes and America first starts to understand that it isn’t all balls and pretty dresses. It’s cunning and manipulative and sometimes downright evil. I think it’s good that Cass doesn’t make it all bright and shiny.

I also like that America is being taken off her pedestal a bit. She’s not just a shoe-in anymore and really has to work to regain Maxon’s trust after what she did (he he.. see what I did there? Read the book). I like that Kriss is her competition and not Marlee or Celeste. I like Marlee’s storyline although it was completely transparent. I mentally sighed in relief when America didn’t just sat and watched as Marlee was hurt. I’m glad that Celeste isn’t the frontrunner as it would be way too easy. Arch-enemies and all. I also like the maids, Lucy in particular. I hope she gets a bigger part next book. I have a feeling she might.

Aspen need to go away. He annoys me. So there. But that doesn’t mean that I want America and Maxon to be together. I kinda do but on the other hand, America is basically stringing him along and I don’t like that. I think they’ll end up together but she needs to redeem herself.

I will give this book a 3 out of 5. It’s an adequate sequel in an adequate series. No fireworks or breaths held in excitement but then again, I read it in less than 12 hours. I saw that the last book of this series (“The One”) won’t come out till 2014. I don’t like this. I want to read it now, dammit.

Also, please check out this review of The Elite by CassJayTuck. She reviews books and things on YouTube and she makes me laugh. I love her review of The Elite.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Elite (The Selection #2)”

  1. Ha ha fun review, it sounds like you had a lot of reading angst, but also a lot of enjoyment, so that’s good! 😛 This sounds a little like how I feel about the Caster Chronicles and I’m only half way through the second book, lol.

    Also I checked out the Youtuber, hilarious!

    1. Haha I really did! You should have seen me. The book was laying next to my laptop and I just kept picking it up and putting it back down like.. “nope. I need to finish reading paper towns first” and then before I knew it I was halfway through the book 😛

      I know right? She’s great. Her views are definitely a little different from mine but she’s really funny 😀

Leave a Reply

