Book Review: And Then There Were None

First, there were ten – a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion.

×××

 There have been many rumours about who purchased Indian island, ranging from celebrities to royals, but no one seems to know who actually lives there. Then, ten strangers are invited to the island under mysterious circumstances. Vague letters, indirect job offers, friends of friends.

Vera Claythorne, Lawrence Wargrave, Philip Lombard, General John Macarthur, Emily Brent, Anthony Marston, Dr. Edward Armstrong and William Blogre arrive at Indian Island and meet Mr and Mrs Rogers, a married couple hired to take care of the house. Strange circumstances only get weirder when on the first night suddenly a voice sounds out of no where, accusing all everyone of murder.

Then, one by one, people start dying. After the party discovers that they are definitely the only ones on the island, the only possible solution is that the killer is one of them. But who is it? And will they find out in time? And why are the murders following a nursery rhyme?

Ten little Indians went out to dine;
One choked his little self and then there were nine.

Nine little Indians sat up very late;
One overslept himself and then there were eight.

Eight little Indians travelling in Devon;
One said he’d stay there and then there were seven.

Seven little Indians chopping up sticks;
One chopped himself in halves and then there were six.

Six little Indians playing with a hive;
A bumblebee stung one and then there were five.

Five little Indians going in for law;
One got in Chancery and then there were four.

Four little Indians going out to sea;
A red herring swallowed one and then there were three.

Three little Indians walking in the zoo;
A big bear hugged one and then there were two.

Two little Indians sitting in the sun;
One got frizzled up and then there was one.

One little Indians left all alone;
He went out and hanged himself and then there were none.

×××

This is the first and only Agatha Cristie book that I have read. I know, it’s practically a sin, but this book is SO good I can barely imagine any book being better. I know that almost every book of her is nearly divine but I just feel a little loyal to this one. Is that weird?

The first time I read this book, well.. when I say read I mean that it was read to me by my mother. I think I was about 13 and it was something we did together. It was so exciting and scary. You don’t know who the killer is until the very last pages and you try to guess but you always guess wrong. It’s brilliant. I literally was scared to go to the bathroom at night.

What I like about this book is that there are 8 people you can identify with. It’s written from 8 different points of view (Mr and Mrs Rogers barely get any speaking time) so you can pretty much choose which one to ‘be’. It’s kinda like a game of clue where you pick to be one of the characters. I always feel closest to Vera Claythorne, the young governess.

I recommend this book to everyone. It’s truly amazing and spectacular. It was published in 1939 but it reads as easily as a modern book does. If you have read it, please tell me who you thought the killer was!

I give this book a 5 out of 5 because it’s the epitome of perfection. I love it.  If you don’t feel like reading the book, you can even watch the movie on YouTube here.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

6 thoughts on “Book Review: And Then There Were None”

  1. I once started with Why didn’t they ask Evans, but lost interest less than halfway through. After the Doctor Who episode I’ve been meaning to try one of hers again. I’ll keep my eyes open for this one. By the way, my birthday is on the same day as hers. I always feel I have to mention that.

    1. I’ve been meaning to read another book of hers for ages, too. In any case Murder on the Orient Express, the ABC Murders and A Murder is Announced. And of course the Mousetrap. I believe that one has been the longest running play ever or something. Has been on West End since 1952. So many great books!

      I’ll keep it in mind then, September 15 😉

Leave a Reply

