Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1)

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school… again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’ master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

×××

Are we all familiar with the story here? No? Okay lets keep it short. Twelve year old boy with ADHD and dyslexia turns out to be the son of the Greek god Poseidon. War is looming as someone stole Poseidon’s brother Zeus’s lightening bolt and Percy is the prime suspect. Now it’s up to Percy to find the bolt, prove he’s innocent and save his mum in the process.

So it’s taken me a while to write this review and I finally figured out why that is. I just realized that after I finished reading this book is was like ‘Okay’ and I moved on. I didn’t linger on it, I didn’t think about the ending or the characters or the story or anything like I do with a lot of other books. I just finished and that was it. I didn’t have a lot to say about it.

Now, that doesn’t mean that I didn’t like it. I loved the book, I really did. I was glued to the book for days. What I liked is that I had already seen the movie but it was so different from the book that I still didn’t know what was going to happen in the book itself. And it’s still a really good movie I think, even if they made it entirely different.

I really enjoyed the Greek Mythology aspect of it, educating as well as entertaining us. It’s like a sneaky history course! I think maybe the mythology angle is being used a little more now that vampires are on his way out but as far as I know, Percy was one of the first? Anyway, I really liked that aspect. As I don’t know much about Greek mythology but it’s something that interests me and it makes me want to read more. I want to know more about the Gods and their kids. I think Ares’s daughter comes back in the second book? I’m looking forward to that!

Only thing that I didn’t like is that Percy is only 12 in this book. I know they’re supposed to be demigods but sorry, that’s a bit young for it to be ‘believable’ (which is kind of funny when you talk about a book about Gods and whatnot). I think 15 or even 14 or something would have been a better age.

I knew already who the thief was from the movie but I was pleasantly surprised that it was a lot more complicated in the book than it was in the movie. I’m curious to see how the Titans will be incorporated in the story in the next books. Also, what’s the difference between the Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the Heroes of Olympus series? Why didn’t Riordan just continue the series?

But honestly, I can’t wait for Sea of Monsters to arrive in the mail. Yay for brothers who buy you books (or give you money to buy books) for your birthday, which is this Tuesday (4-06) *party*. But anyway, with his gift money I could buy Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson #2), The Elite (The selection #2) and Dreamless (Starcrossed #2) guilt free. Whoohooo.

I rate this book 4,5 out of 5, taking the last 0,5 because I didn’t really have thoughts about it after. But, to be completely honest, that could absolutely be because I had already seen the movie. But really good start to the series and I look forward to reading the rest of the books!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1)”

    1. I’m pretty late to the party as well but I was looking for new series to get into and this was a pretty obvious choice. Everyone’s so crazy about it and I can definitely see why 🙂

      Didn’t you like the movie? The book is so completely different. The whole pearls thing was only took up like half a page, which is why I was able to enjoy the book as though I didn’t know anything about it yet.

      1. A whole half-page, wow lol they took like THE WHOLE MOVIE! lol
        Actually with the movie adaptation Beautiful Creatures being released in the future, I might want to get my hands on that book and read it before I get SOL’d into watching it before reading the book like I did with Cloud Atlas (another one to read and watch again).

      2. Yea it literally was like ‘oh yea here are some pearls so you can get out. Good luck’ 😛 I’m actually a little apprehensive about watching the film Beautiful Creatures. because the southern accent actually bothered me more than I thought it would 😛

  1. I never read that book. I started with the second book, watched the movie, then continued the series (I still don’t understand why I did that).
    To be honest, I hated the movie. The acting wasn’t that good, the story line was a bit boring. I was told that the book is different, so I need to read it soon.
    The story gets so much better. Wait till you start with the Battle of the Labyrinth. It’s my favourite. One thing I adore about these books are the covers. They’re just great.

Leave a Reply

