Book Review: The Selection (The Selection #1)

the selectionFor thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined

×××

Okay, so it’s probably not a good thing if the blurb literally describes the whole plot. But more on that later.

The selection is a Dystopian novel whose main character is America Singer, who becomes part of ‘The Selection’: a process where one of 35 girls will be chosen to be the new queen.

The book is described as a cross between the Bachelor and the Hunger Games and it really is. Not in the way that the girls have to kill each other to be picked queen but more in the way that the country is shaped. There aren’t districts but there are provinces and there are casts. There were several things in the story that reminded me of the Hunger Games.

There are a lot of negative reviews on this book out there. Some saying that it’s the worst book ever written. I don’t agree with that at all. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not the best book ever written either but it’s alright. The plot is.. flimsy at best but I think that it’s written in a way that keeps you reading nonetheless.

The characters are .. fine. America’s a nice, pretty girl with red hair who chooses to be the prince’s friend instead of another possible love interest. She’s down to earth and humble. Maxon is an awkward prince charming basically and then there’s Aspen, the poor boy and ‘true love’.

Like, I said, there’s not much to the plot and if you’re looking for an intelligent read, don’t look here. But that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t try this book. I think it’s a good read if you’re in the mood for something that doesn’t need you to think. I do have to say that the book was way too short. It’s pretty much one big introduction and right when the story get’s interesting, it cuts off. That’s probably why the plot feels so shallow.

I think this series has great potential and maybe in the next book The Elite, the plot will broaden and it’ll become a lot more interesting.

I rate this book a 3 out of 5 for its lack of depth. But it’s a good 3 because somehow it didn’t bother me that there wasn’t much to it. If anything, I really want to read the next book so that’s a good sign!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection (The Selection #1)”

  1. Hmmm, this kind of reinforces my existing thoughts on The Selection, I think I’ll pass on this one, but nice review. I always hate it when I blurb describes the entire plot, it totally ruins it!! Not to mention *ahem* it makes it difficult to summarize in a review because there is nothing extra you can say *ahem*. Super annoying!

    1. Haha well, if your brain ever turns to mush after doing too much work (like mine has) then this book will be a nice filler. I liked that I didn’t need to think, I could just enjoy..
      I don’t think they had any options with the blurb though. It’s not that the blurb says too much, it’s that there’s nothing else to say if that makes sense 😛 The plot entails so little that it fits on one paragraph.. Not good!

Leave a Reply

