Rocky Over the Rainbow

When I was younger, my mom thought it was very important to introduce me to culture and art. Therefore she took me and my brother to the theatre often to see musicals and plays. Every year in April we get a brochure from the local theatre with all the shows that they are showing in the upcoming year and my mom would get tickets for 2 or 3 of them.

When I was about 11 years old, she came across a show called ‘Rocky over the Rainbow’. She, not being very adventurous if I may call it that, had never heard of the Rocky Horror Picture Show so when she saw that the description called it colourful and humorous she thought it would be a great child-friendly show to go to with her kids.

It was the best mistake that had ever been made. We were lucky that it wasn’t very obscene and that it was mostly innuendos and nothing seriously vulgar so we didn’t have to leave. It was truly amazing. I’m sad to say that I don’t remember a lot of it but I remember enough. As you might have guessed it was a combination of RHPS and the Wizard of OZ. So you had Dorothy with her entourage ending up at Dr. Frank N. Furter’s castle, seeking shelter from the storm. One of the few things I remember best was the opening line

Dorothy: I’m soaking wet! (silence) from the rain!

I was only just old enough to get the reference and I don’t think I have ever laughed harder in my life. Other than that I don’t remember much. Except for dancing the Time Warp and that the guy who played Frank N. Furter’s accidentally snapped his riding crop and hit himself in the face. I think he stood there on the stage for a good 3 minutes in complete silence with his eyes closed trying not to burst out laughing.

I honestly think that is one of the best memories from my childhood. The best part being that my parents ran into my brother’s teacher. My brother was 7 at the time and blissfully ignorant of all the innuendos that were made in the show. But, his teachers were very surprised to see him there to say the least. My mom explained it to them and they didn’t make a problem of it but I tell ya.. it was hilarious. It’s really one of those nights that I wish I could experience again.

 

 

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

2 thoughts on “Rocky Over the Rainbow”

  1. Going to the theatre, and musicals in particular, is probably one of the greatest joys in life, second only to books. We live 200km from the nearest theatre, but my wife and I now make a point to go to at least two or three shows a year, more if we can afford it.

    Last year I got us tickets for a comedy version of Alice in Wonderland. It was described as a family show, so I was expecting the classic story with maybe a bit of slapstick thrown in. It turned out to be a kiddies show (in fact, there were at least three birthday parties present), and my wife and I were the only audience members without kids. It was also one of those shows with audience participation *shudder*. Suffice to say we got to rediscover our childhood on that day.

Leave a Reply

