Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish for those who are fond of books and list. 

April 23: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

A little while ago I talked about how I was going to join BA’s posting challenge because I liked some regularity in my blogging. When I did the 30 day Book Challenge, I found out that I really like to be given a subject to talk about. So I thought, why not do this challenge/meme as well. I love making lists and books are pretty much all I blog about so why not combine the two? Therefore, from now on I will be participating in this challenge every Tuesday.

Apparently, I picked a nice hard one to start with! Okay here goes.

Five books I thought I’d like more than I did.

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

This is a book I read very recently. I wrote a review about it, too. If you want to read that check it out here. Basically, Perks is a pretty big hype nowadays with the film coming out so I was hearing about it everywhere. When I asked which book to read next, Perks was the one that most people told me to read, so I did. Because everybody was so enthusiastic about it, and recommending it a lot, I thought that it would be this amazing book. Unfortunately, I didn’t like it. Like, at all. There were quite a few things that disturbed me and Charlie sounded way younger than 15. Overall disappointment.

2. Mockingjay

I devoured Hunger Games and Catching Fire. Like, 2 books in 2 days. And then I read Mockingjay and it was al right for the most part. I was annoyed by Katniss some of the time with her ‘I am Katniss Everdeen I don’t listen to your petty rules’ attitude but still, it was okay. Then, the ending. Horrible. Horrible horrible horrible. Just.. no.

3. The Exorcist

I bought this book on a whim when I was in Waterstones once, thinking it would be this incredibly scary and exciting read but mostly it was just boring.

4. Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles nr. 2)

After having read Beautiful Creatures, I was pretty excited about the second book. However, I thought most of it was unnecessary. It’s pretty much a whole book dedicated to angst and chasing Lena that probably could have been shortened and made part of the third book. Read my review here.

5. Twenties Girl

I am a very big Sophie Kinsella fan, I really am. The Shopaholic series is one of my favourite series ever. However, one of her more recent books, Twenties Girl, didn’t strike my fancy as much as the others did. I expected more from it. Still an okay book though.

 

Five books I thought I’d like less than I did

1. ‘Salems Lot

When I first bought ‘Salems lot, I missed the apostrophe at the beginning of the title. So, I thought that it was about witches. I was initially very disappointed to find out it was actually about vampires. But, turns out that I was pretty much engrossed by the story from the first page on. Oh Stephen King.. *fangirl*

2. To Kill a Mockingbird

I read Mockingbird because it’s one of those books that you have to have read. I read Catcher in the Rye last summer and didn’t like it very much. For some reason, I thought that this book was going to be the same. But, fortunately for me, I adored this book. It turned out to be actually one of my favourites. Read my review here.

3. The Colour Purple

In my second year of higher education, we had to pick a book to read an analyse. I chose the Colour Purple because I knew we had it at home. I didn’t know what it was about or if I would like it or not. However, I very much enjoyed reading this book. It’s so heartbreakingly beautiful. Truly amazing.

4. The Da Vinci Code

I read this book after my dad recommended it to me. I didn’t think I’d like it but turns out that I did. It’s really very intriguing and entertaining and I need to buy it in English!

5. Game of Thrones

Okay this is wishful thinking. I bought Game of Thrones last week and I’m a bit apprehensive about reading it. So much text! But, I’m hoping I will love it and devour it and read all the others and get totally addicted like everyone else.

 

Aaand that’s it for this week already! Pfiew those were difficult to come up with. Really had to think hard to remember..

But, I did it! Till next Tuesday!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did”

  1. I desperately want to read A Game of Thrones! I hope you enjoy it. 🙂 Salems Lot, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Da Vinci Code and Beautiful Darkness are all on my to read list so I hope I will like them! Our reading definitely crosses over a lot. 😛
    How are you finding The Great Gatsby?

    1. Haha I hope I will enjoy it, too! I really hope it’ll live up to all the expectations I’ve build around it. I don’t watch the series so I have no idea to expect 😛

      It does seem like we have a lot of overlap doesn’t it? Very cool though 😉 Can’t wait till you get to them so we can see if we think alike 😛

      Oh Gatsby.. I’m so behind.. I’ve been so busy reading for my thesis and setting up that project that I haven’t really gotten a chance to really read it yet so I’m still at the beginning. I will finish it though. Scouts honour 😛

      1. Haha wow you’re braver than me! I rarely attempt classics while I have education related work to do, I get too lazy so I don’t blame you. 😛

        It is very cool, it’s a good way of knowing you have similar tastes and that you can trust the blogs opinions!

  2. I too want to read Game of Thrones as my sister has been raving about it for months. But the sheer vastness of the whole series is putting me off.

    Great job by the way. This week was my second top ten Tuesday and I found this a tough week to choose a top ten for.

    1. Hi!
      Thanks, I thought it was though as well. I really stared at my bookcase for ages looking for books I could use.

      I know what you mean about the vastness of the series. It’s what’s holding me back as well. It just doesn’t seem like a light read..

      1. Game of Thrones is a lot of pages, but worth it. I’ve just finished the third book. At times I threw it down, disgusted, and vowed to not touch it again, only to find myself an hour later devouring more. But be warned: GRR Martin toys with one’s emotions. And it’s way better than the television series.

        If you liked Da Vinci Code you should definitely get Angels & Demons. The story actually takes place before Da Vinci Code (it was also the first Robert Langdon novel, though only got famous after the second one) and contains much less explanations and much more action.

      2. I’ve heard that too. I’ve been warned by several people who have read all the book so far that he is absolutely brutal and merciless. Especially in the third book apparently. I think I may have to just do it!

        I have read Angels & Demons and it’s my favourite of his books 😀 I’ve also read Digital Fortress and liked that, too, although less than the other ones. Still need to read his latest book, though 😛

      1. I completely agree (though I haven’t seen the movie). Funny story, I went to the hotel that inspired him the day after I read the book. It was absolutely terrifying!

Leave a Reply

