The Book Notes Project – Update

book notes

Good morning my blogger friends! Some of you may remember that a couple of days ago I announced that I was going to start a new project called ‘The Book Notes Project‘. You can read more on the project here.

I’m happy to say that since then I have been contacted by several people who are willing to collaborate with me. These include:

Well me of course, Emma, A wordless blogger, The Netherlands

Leigh, Can’t beLeighve Dave gone, Originally from the UK but is currently living in New Zealand

Krys, Black ‘n Write, Canada

Maia, Maia Madness, Norway

George, George Saba, Lebanon

Zulaiha, I Was Never Heard , Sri Lanka

Megan, Frustrated Reader (whose name I also do not yet know), USA – North Dakota

I feel so very proud when I look at this list of people who are willing to help me. Forget starting small, I’m taking this thing global straight away!

So, there have been some updates on execution of the project as well. As I said, we’re going to distribute notes with some sort of compliment or positive message on them, by putting them in and around (library) books. We hope that the people reading those notes will take the time to go to our page and tell us what they thought when they found the note, where they found it, which book etc. But we’ve also come up with the idea to do blogs every once in a while on subjects relating to the project’s cause. So that’s subjects like body image, bullying, sexism, feminism or something similar. Right now, those will be done by me, Leigh, Krys and Maia but everyone is welcome to do regular- or guest blogs if they would be interested. A list of collaborators will also be published on the project’s page.

I’m very happy to announce that today I will putting out the first dozen or so notes. I was planning on doing this yesterday but I suddenly had the chance to do my very favorite thing in the world: going to the dentist. Yes, that is sarcasm dripping of your screen. One of my denture fillings had fallen out and I needed to get that fixed.

But anyway! Distributing the first notes today! I’m so excited!

If you want to participate in the project in any way, please contact me on book-notes@hotmail.com and we’ll talk!

Love, Emma

UPDATE!!

The first wave of notes has just gone out. I was so nervous! The whole time I was putting those notes out I thought that at any time someone would come up to me and say ‘what the hell are you doing?!’. But, no-one did. I’m really curious to see if anyone will respond.

I’m happy to announce that we will also be joined by

Herman, Kokkieh, from South Africa!

And

Kathy, Books on the Tube, from London!

AND

Tiffany, Tifanny Metzger, from Ohio, USA!

AND

Jack, YA Bookstop, Dublin, Ireland!

Here’s a picture of the last note I put out. Incidentally  this is in the metro and not a book but I just wanted to take a picture because I didn’t have the opportunity to do so in the library.

IMG563

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

12 thoughts on “The Book Notes Project – Update”

  1. Looking forward to participating! I’ll be sure to spread the word on my blog as well! 🙂
    P.S. Not to be nit-picky, but my name is spelled wrong in your link to my blog. Should be Tiffany Metzger. Thanks! 🙂

  2. This is awesome! I’m so happy the idea’s becoming global! 😀
    I just had an idea. We might be selling books that we don’t read anymore. I’m definitely filling them with notes.

    1. Isn’t it? I’m really so excited!

      It’s a good idea, the selling of old books and I encourage everyone who does sell their books to fill them with notes but I never ever sell my books 😛 I’m too attached.

      Hey George, would you be alright with me adding you on facebook? I’ve created a group for the project and I would like to add as many people who are involved as I can so that everyone would be able to contribute and discuss ideas. Let me know!

      1. I’m too attached to my books too, but the books we might sell are the ones we never read, or will never read ever again.
        Sure! I’ve got no problems! How do I send you the link to my account?

Leave a Reply

