The Book Notes Project

book notes

Today, I came up with this thing. And when I say I came up with it I mean I was inspired by people doing similar things and decided to make my own thing of it.

I’m planning on starting this project called ‘The Book Notes Project‘. The idea is that I’m going to leave notes in the library books that I have borrowed (if you remember me posting about it, there are quite a lot). These notes are going to have messages on them like “your hair looks awesome today” or “you are totally awesome”, just little things that may brighten that persons day. At the bottom of these notes I’m going to write the URL of the blog that I created for that project in the hope that they’ll visit it and tell me what they thought.

I came up with this idea basically through a couple of things I have seen on the internet, people leaving notes with random messages, people leaving notes in books about those specific books etc. I remember when my friend Maia left a post-it on my door once, saying “You are beautiful”, which was part of operation beautiful and let me tell you, it was a great feeling. I want to try to give other people that same feeling.

The problem is that there’s so much shit in this world. There’s so much hatred and unkindness. It’s like no-one can do things right anymore. You’re too fat or too skinny, a slut or a prude, too smart or too dumb, a pushover or a bitch and I could go on like that for hours. Every single person has been bullied for something at least once in their lives. It is so rare that we hear kinds words from a stranger.

So that’s what I want to do, I want to bring a little positivity into the world. And who knows, maybe someday it reaches a person who really needed it that day.

Now that I’ve told you a bit about my idea, I wanted to ask you something. I am only me, and I probably won’t reach a lot of people all by myself. So what I would like to know is if you would want to join me in this project. For now, all you’d have to do is leave kind notes in books and maybe think along with me on how to make this thing work. It would be really awesome if I could get a couple of people around the world interested and see what we could do, you know?

If you would like to work with me, leave a comment or email me at book-notes@hotmail.com and we’ll talk!

Let me know what you think.

-Emma.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

31 thoughts on “The Book Notes Project”

  1. This is a brilliant idea! I wish I could be a part of it, but we don’t have a public library in my village, and I buy all of the books I read, which sucks a lot 😦

    1. Couldn’t you just leave a note in a purchased book every time you visit a bookstore? People do this in the “Post Secret” books and it seems to be a big hit.

  2. This is a great idea! I’d love to join, I’m planning on borrowing a lot of books in the next month or so, therefore I’d have a great advantage (sending you an email)

  3. That’s a lovely, great idea. I love how books are able to connect us with people all over the globe and this seems like another example. I have been churning over my own little secret idea in my head very vaguely along this sort of line, but I’m not sure it will work at the moment so I’m keeping it under wraps.

    I would participate, but unfortunately I never really get books out of the library anymore, and I never give away books either. I’m too much of a hoarder. 😛

    I wish you the best of luck though, and I hope you get some feedback from it!

    1. Haha thank you!

      I don’t really get books out of the library either, the books I have now are all academic books from the university library but I thought maybe I could just visit the local library and leave the notes in the books without checking any out. 😀

  4. To start with, you’ve reached out to someone from Sri Lanka (Yeah, that tiny tear drop shaped island in the Indian ocean) 🙂 And this is a great idea! I’ve done this myself – not on library books, but I just walk into empty classes during school, pick up a random book and write something like that at the back of it. I’ve watched them smile at it afterwards. That feeling of watching them smile at what you wrote for them is just so beautiful that I do it all over again.

  5. I absolutely LOVE this idea. A year or so ago, I picked up a book that had several of these messages put in, and it was wonderful. Brought an immediate smile to my face.

    What does participating entail? Simply spreading the love? If so, I’d love to participate, but I can’t afford to do anything too time consuming right now. Leaving some messages, spreading some love, I can manage that though.

    1. Hi Cain! thanks so much! It’s great that you’ve experienced the thing that we’re trying to accomplish. I can’t wait to hear from the people who read one of our notes. It feels like we’re really doing something good, you know?

      You can participate in any way you can. So, if you want to spread the love, spread the love!

      If you like, though, you can mail me at book-notes@hotmail.com and I can maybe add you as an author on the project’s blog so if you would like to add a bio or something you would be able to. I could also add you on facebook so I can invite you to the group I made for all the people participating in the project so you can stay updated on changes and contribute/discuss ideas and what not.

      Let me know! Oh and also, where are you from? I really like knowing where everyone’s from. There are already so many people from all around the world helping me. It’s amazing!

    1. Hi! Thanks so much 😀 it’s exactly what we are trying to achieve and help is always appreciated! 🙂 If you email me at book-notes@hotmail.com, I’ll fill you in on all the details. And if you tell me your name and where you live I’ll add you to the list of people who are contributing to the project.

      Talk soon hopefully!

Leave a Reply

