Book Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.

×××

There are two Will Graysons. One is from Evanston and lives by two rules: 1. Never care too much and 2. shut up. His best friend is called Tiny Cooper, who is the largest gay person alive, who is flamboyant and fabulous. The second Will Grayson is from Naperville. He is not the shiny, happy type. He pretty much spends his time trying not to kill everyone in his school, biding his time till he can go home and talk to his best and only real friend Isaac, who he knows through the internet.

When Will² heads to Chicago to finally meet up with Isaac, which doesn’t go the way he planned, he runs into Will¹. They meet, they’re amazed at their name sharing and for some reason, they share their life stories. Trough this chance meeting, their lives mix and because of each other they change.

×××

I just finished reading this book and I have to say, I’m impressed. It is a brilliant collaboration of two amazing writers; John Green & David Levithan. It was clear from the first chapter on that I was going to enjoy this book and it was confirmed in the second chapter that I was going to love this book.

Both Wills are great characters with their own flaws. Will¹ tries to be apathetic and keeps to himself, Will² is horribly depressed and has difficulty trying to see the good in the world. I could relate a bit to both Wills and I wanted to know more about them. After every chapter I wanted to keep reading about that specific Will instead of it switching to the other. But then in the next chapter, I’d have the exact same problem all over again so I guess it cancels each other out.

I did have a problem with the Will² chapters, written by David Lavithan. Non of the sentences start with a capital letter, the word I is spelled with a lower case i and names aren’t capitalized. It very much annoyed me at first as I wasn’t really comfortable reading like that but I kinda got used to it. I get that it’s a method of differentiating between the two but I didn’t think it was necessary.

A lot of people say that Will¹ is a bit pretentious with his ‘intelligent rock’ and his curiosity for Schrödinger’s cat theory. Same with Jane. However, I don’t think so. Sure, they are very much John Green characters if that makes sense. He does tend to create the same sort of characters in all his books but I don’t think that Will¹ and Jane are pretentious. They are just two teenagers trying to find their place in the world and slowly discovering that they way that they’ve been playing the game maybe isn’t the best way to play at all.

I do want to like Tiny, I really do, but there’s something about him that’s just off-putting. Will¹ actually has the same problem as I do so I’m guessing that it’s supposed to be part of the story, but I think that Tiny is selfish. He spends time with Will¹ when he wants to and then drops him when he wants to, too. He creates this musical about his life, in which Will¹ is a main character, without really caring what Will¹ thinks about his life being put on display. Now, it turns out okay in the end but still. The only real bit we see from Tiny is in a Will² chapter, which is funny since it’s a Will¹ character, but it didn’t make me feel any less like that the only thing he wants is for people to want the same things he wants.

I did enjoy the book very very much. I read it in no time at all and I will most definitely be reading it again. I absolutely loved the ending and I was in tears. And not the subtle teary eyed kind but the bottom lip shaking trying to hold it in kind. It was beautiful.

Oh and can I just say that I hate Maura? She is a deceitful, spiteful, vindictive, manipulative, self-involved, cold-hearted bitch. So there.

All in all I rate this book a 4,5 out of 5. It is a beautiful book about teenage struggling with themselves and their sexuality.

Coincidentally, the quote that hit me the most was not from the actual book but from the acknowledgements of all places.

“We acknowledge that being the person God made you cannot separate you from God’s love.”

While you’re still here, please head over to my previous post and help me decide which book to read next okay? Thank you!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson”

  1. I remember when I read this book ages ago it took me forever to realize there were 2 different Wills and which Will was which, so Levithan’s writing style was helpful.

    And I definitely remember Morra and what she did. Totally agree with your opinion.

  2. This sounds like such a fascinating book, right up my alley! I enjoy authors who explore the depths and vulnerabilities of male characters. It’s a weakness of mine! And I really need to check out John Green’s work…

Leave a Reply

