My Wall of Happy

Hi everybody I’m back! I hope everybody has had a nice Easter. I sure did. I didn’t  do anything special, just relaxing and enjoying the feeling of having finished all my projects and having absolutely nothing to do for a couple of days. So what I did is play BioShock Infinite (an amazing game btw.. I really recommend all the BioShock games. If you’re a fan, leave a comment!) which I just finished today and I was totally stunned and amazed by the ending. Really, Kudos to the creators.. it really went above and beyond all expectations. I also played quite a bit of Silent Hill: Homecoming but not as much as I get scared. Hehe. I haven’t been reading very much over the last couple of days but it’s picking up again. So.. yea.. that’s what I have been doing for the last four days.

As promised, now that all my projects have been finished and turned in and I’ve had a chance to relax a bit,  I can finally focus on my blog. So, now for my big comeback I’m going to talk about me a bit. Exciting, no?

Okay, so what I’m going to talk about is my ‘Happy Wall’. My Happy Wall is pretty much just the wall area above my bed where I hang up all the things that are related to good memories or things that make me happy/optimistic. I started this I think maybe a year ago because I just wanted things like that to be on plain sight so I can look at them whenever and feel better about stuff. So far  it’s been a really good thing. I wouldn’t say it has helped me but it has definitely good to put these things up so that I am constantly reminded of them. So, here it is!

My Happy Wall
My Happy Wall

Okay so let’s go through this by the numbers.

1. This was the first piece on my Wall. A couple of times a year there is a poster sale at my university and that’s where I found that one. At the time I was in a relationship where I felt that I had to really think about everything I was saying to avoid arguments. Guess what, it didn’t work. We still fought every day and it wasn’t healthy. The poster says “Never be afraid to say what you really feel” and then the little dog says “fuck off” which is awesome. When I bought it I had the option to get it framed and I’m really glad I did. I think it looks good and I’m still very happy with it.

2. I bought this poster of a lion cub cuddling a stuffed animal more recently at another poster sale at my uni. I saw it and I loved it because it’s adorable and it makes me feel the warm and fuzzies. Unfortunately they didn’t have the frames when I bought it so I have to go to Ikea sometime soon to get a frame for it.

3. You probably won’t be able to make this out from the picture but it is the 116th sonnet by Shakespeare. I put this up because I think it’s a beautiful idea of what love should be.

4. This is actually a picture of me at 4 years old helping my mom give my new-born brother a bath. This picture fell out of one of the many picture albums that my  mom has made over the years and I thought it deserved to be up there.

5. A Buddhist quote that says “The secret of Health for both Mind and Body is not to Mourn the Past, Worry about the Future or anticipate Troubles, but to live in the present moment Wisely and Earnestly”. Pretty self-explanatory I think.

6. The first verse of John Donne’s poem ‘Air and Angels’. I love this poem and the first verse specifically. The idea of soul mates and loving someone before you have ever met that person is very appealing to me.

7. The 2 pictures are of the Student Accommodations that I lived in when I was studying in the UK. The left is the view I had from my bedroom, the right is the kitchen. If you look closely at the kitchen one, you can see three laptops sitting on the counter. Those were mine, Abi’s and Maia’s laptops. We had a pretty big kitchen with a nice sitting area so we would just go there to spend time with each other. We called ourselves the ‘Kitchen Club’. One of the best times of my life.

8. Pretty simple: a key chain that says ‘Emma’. I got it in Newcastle when I visited the city with my mother in December of 2009. My God, time goes fast.

9. My exercise schedule. Not really a part of my Happy Wall but it’s good that it hangs there so I get reminded of it every day. As you can see (maybe) I started exercising every day from March 9th and I haven’t missed a day. I’m not going to go deeper into it as I have a huge dislike of talking about dieting, exercising, weight loss and so forth.

10. My student pass for the University of Wolverhampton. I held on to it because of memories.

11. A picture of me, Abi, Maia and Renee. We took this picture when I visited Wolverhampton after I finished studying there. We went out to Nando’s to have a nice meal and catch up. That was a good day.

12. This one is a bit of a tough one. It’s a birthday card from Abi for my last birthday. I have been trying to decide if I should take it down or not. Those of you who read my blog regularly know that Abi, my best friend ever since I met her in 2010, has recently decided to become a Jehovah’s Witness and since I do not live by the rules and regulations that JWs live by, she cannot be friends with me anymore (or with any or her other friends for that matter). I’m torn because it symbolizes an important friendship but on the other hand it’s kind of painful.

13. Ahh I love this best. Every month I give to a charity called IFAW (International Fund for Animal Welfare) and every once in a while they send me things like these postcards. I figured I was never going to send them to anyone so instead of throwing them away I did something nice with them. In every card there is a quote from the Dresden files that has made me laugh and/or is inspirational.

The baby seal: “Smiling always seems to annoy people more than actually insulting them. Or maybe I just have an annoying smile.” (Storm Front)

The kitten: “Hope is a force of nature. Don’t let anyone tell you different.” (Changes)

The dog: “If you can’t stop the bad thoughts from coming to visit, at least you can make fun of them while they’re hanging around.” (Turn Coat)

The elephants: “It isn’t good to hold on too hard to the past. You can’t spend your whole life looking back. not even when you can’t see what lies ahead. All you can do is keep on keeping on, and try to believe that tomorrow will be what it should be – even if it isn’t what you expected.” (Death Masks)

The whales: “Laugh whenever you can. It keeps you from killing yourself when things are bad. That and Vodka.” (Changes)

14. Another thing I can’t make up my mind about. I found this in an old notebook. It’s the score keeping of a game of Aces to Kings between me and Abi from when we played it when I was in the UK. Good memories but a bit painful.

15. A Christmas card from my mom that she gave me last Christmas. It has some personal stuff that I’m not going to share with you. Let’s just say I was in a bad place and she made me feel better.

16. A postcard from Japan that Maia sent me when she was there visiting her friend. I  never got a card from somewhere that far away so I kept it.

17. I forgot to place a number next to it but it’s the orangey drawing next to the poster of the Brooklyn bridge. It’s a picture I found randomly on DeviantArt. It’s a fan made drawing of Harry Dresden from the Dresden files sleeping on the couch with his enormous dog and cat. I love that drawing.

And.. that’s pretty much it. I have some other stuff scattered around my room (like the carrier bag that I got when I went to see Wicked in London or the fairy pendant that Maia got me for Christmas in 2010) but those are the primary things. So.. now you have gotten a bit of an insight into my room and my life and even my head. What do you think? Do you have something like a Happy Wall?

As always, please leave comments/questions/requests.

ps. How’s that for a comeback? 😉

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

5 thoughts on “My Wall of Happy”

  1. Ha ha a very good comeback! 🙂 This is awesome, imma have to get me one of these. 😛 I have a wall of stuff at uni and a cork board thing at home which I guess are kind of similar, but they really need to be updated and made prettier. For instance quite a few people on the boards I don’t even see anymore and the pictures are getting reasonably old. Hmm…

    I understand the issues with the Abi memories, I have had similar sorts of problems with relationships that have suddenly turned and you want to be happy about it but it just makes you sad. There’s this quote I always try and think of that goes something like.. don’t be sad because it’s over smile because it happened or something like that. But it is easier said than done!!

    1. Haha thanks! Something like a happy wall or a happy board is just a good thing 😀 Making/updating them is fun so why not right?

      Yea I get what you’re saying. Indeed, Definitely easier said than done though 😉 but I think that that is the reason why I kept it up. I am happy it happened in spite of all that has happened since. I think the good memories will win out over the bad ones and in the end I think I’ll be glad I kept it 🙂

Leave a Reply

