Movie Review: Shelter / Six Souls

shelterAfter the death of her husband, Dr. Cara Harding’s faith in God has been shaken, but not her belief in science. In an attempt to get her more open to accepting unexplainable psychiatric theories, her father introduces her to Adam, a patient with multiple personalities who also takes on some of the physical characteristics of his other personalities. But Cara quickly discovers that his other personalities were murder victims and the more she finds out about Adam and his past, the closer she and her loved ones are to becoming murder victims themselves.

×××

(Warning will contain spoilers)

Widowed psychiatrist Cara (Julianne Moore) receives a call from her father, who is also a psychiatrist, about an interesting new patient with apparent Multiple Personalities disorder. After some hesitation, Cara decides to meet with this patient (Jonathan Rhys Meyers). When they first meet he is introduced as David Bernburg.

After some initial interviewing, the phone rings and David answers. The person on the phone asks for Adam but there is no other male in the room. When David says so, the person asks him to look for Adam. David promptly has some sort of convulsion. When he recovers he goes back to the phone and says ‘this is Adam’. He has switched personalities.

Eventually, Cara notices something that is off about David. The story that he tells her about her life are the same of a high school student that died several years ago, down to the very last detail. Cara then goes to talk to the mother of the student, David, who died. She tells her that David had an accident which allows him not to be able to walk – the patient David is also an invalid even though Adam can walk – and that David left home trying to find a cure for his condition, turning his back on God.

Some time after that, she goes to Adam’s old house where she finds a dead man with a strange cross burned into his back. When she goes to investigate this cross, it leads her to a small community where she talks to ‘Granny’ about the sign. She tells her that it is the ‘Holler’s Cross’.

Long story short, Granny cursed a priest who lost his faith in God a long time ago to walk around the earth and shelter the souls of those who have also lost their faith in God. So Adam, David and the others living in his body, aren’t separate identities, they are actually the souls of the people that the priest swallowed.

×××

Sorry about that, I had to cut the synopsis short as I was actually getting really annoyed by the storyline. Let me tell you why.

When I started watching this film I was really interested with the MP angle and I was hoping that it would continue in that direction. It didn’t. Then I hoped that it would go in the direction of demons or something. It didn’t. Instead it was about God. Because, if you believe in God and have faith in God, the evil priest wouldn’t come to get you. If you don’t have unshakable faith.. well.. you’re fucked.

Yea.. I’m not okay with that. I’m sorry but I’m not. I’m not going to start a whole religious debate here but when I watched this movie I was like.. WTF. This was definitely not what I signed up for. Having to deal with a situation in my own life where a person basically shunned everyone because it didn’t coincide with what she chose to believe, this movie hit a cord with me.

This movie is basically saying that you need to believe in God to be saved. I mean.. what? I just can’t get over it. Eugh.

For those who noticed; yes this IS the movie Six Souls which is coming out in theatres soon. Apparently it’s being re-released somewhere this year under a different title.

Ratings: 1.5 / 5

This probably won’t be necessary but if you’re in any way insulted with what I said here, I’m sorry. If you choose to leave a comment please keep it neat and polite 🙂 Thank you. 

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: Shelter / Six Souls”

  1. Hahaha. I stopped reading the minute you announced spoilers, so I will return after I’ve seen the movie. However, it sounds interesting! Though, I skipped to your rating at the end….wow. Bad??

    1. Well, the movie is not really that bad on itself. It’s the storyline that I have a problem with. It’s very religion heavy and I’m not into that right now but if you don’t mind that it could be a great movie for you!

  2. Good to know. Glad I read this before watching. I believe in God but I hate all the Christian definitions, traditions and requirements they have created by their literal and judgmental interpretations of the scriptures. I hate the you must be dunked in water, go to church and do what some man says to be saved theology. God is love period and defining that word and living it is the only way to be saved. I do believe in God in those terms only. Thanks for saving me $6 bucks 🙂

    1. I definitely agree with everything you say! He created us the way we are and I just can’t imagine being judged for being who you are. We are all allowed are opinions and not judged because of them so making a movie about how you need to believe in God to be saved.. yea that just doesn’t cut it with me

  3. I’m a christian. I don’t judge anyone. I may not like someone’s beliefs I may share mine so u know about them but I’m not gonna shove God down ur throat. Your beliefs are ur problem, not mine. I thought the movie was gonna be like the movie Identity. I was shocked when I realized what it was really about. I love Identity and I was actually disappointed

  4. I just watched this movie on Net flix…i had to read some reviews because i did not understand a few things in the movie..but now i get it..i think it was really good…i was really into it..but yeah…the religious message the movie gives is wrong..but i liked the movie for it’s acting…and i mean i am a psychologist myself..so I was just watching it for the character…i personally agree with you though…i believe in god..but i think it is absurd to tell ppl that if you are not totally faithful…you etc what you said. i do not think you should feel ashamed of what you commented..everyone has their own opinion…

Leave a Reply

