Movie Review: The Amazing Spider-man

the amazing spiderman

Like most teenagers, Peter is trying to figure out who he is and how he got to be the person he is today. Peter is also finding his way with his first high school crush, Gwen Stacy, and together, they struggle with love, commitment, and secrets. As Peter discovers a mysterious briefcase that belonged to his father, he begins a quest to understand his parents’ disappearance – leading him directly to Oscorp and the lab of Dr Curt Connors, his father’s former partner. As Spider-Man is set on a collision course with Connors’ alter-ego, The Lizard, Peter will make life-altering choices to use his powers and shape his destiny to become a hero.

♦♦

I’m going to forgo the synopsis on this one as I think it’s a pretty well known story.

Brilliant high school ‘Geek’ gets bitten by radioactive/genetically mutated spider and gets super powers. Bad guy appears, bad guys fight with good guys, pretty girl. Etcetera etcetera.

With great power comes great responsibility, Peter” 

♦♦

I actually really liked this movie. For some reason it reminded me a lot of the Spider-man comics that I watched when I was a kid. I don’t know.. I think it’s something about the script and the wit used in the movie that seemed really familiar. Anyway, I really enjoyed it!

I also really liked that they didn’t go for Mary-Jane this time around. Yay for Gwen Stacy! I may have mentioned this before but I have a slight girl crush on Emma Stone (or I’m just insanely jealous of her but whatever). I loved her in the role of Gwen. She and Andrew just got along really well and you could feel the chemistry popping of the screen.

Only downside is that both Emma and Andrew are just too old to play high school students. It was made really very clear in the movie that it was in fact set in high school but still I found myself wondering if it wasn’t actually set in college. Don’t get me wrong, they did an awesome job but they’re just too old to play 17 year olds.

I thought it was great that Curt Connors got the role of main antagonist in this film. I  mentioned before that this movie really reminded me of the comics. Well, the presence of the good one-armed doctor that occasionally turns into a giant lizard really contributed that, too.

All in all, I really enjoyed this movie. The script was great, the action was awesome, the actors were amazing. I really recommend this movie.

Review: 3,5/5

Ehm.. so yea that’s pretty much it for today. Short review, I know but I actually started writing this on friday the 15th and then I got sidetracked and didn’t have time to get back to it. But anyway, here you go. I am trying to get out of this funk that I’ve been stuck in and get back into blogging regularly. I’ve got some pretty cool (if I may say so myself) stuff lined up so stick around?  

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

5 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Amazing Spider-man”

  1. Having quite enjoyed the previous Spiderman trilogy I’m a bit hesitant about watching the new film. How would you say the two compare? Please keep in mind that comics are not really a thing in South Africa. The only reason I know there are more than one Spiderman is thanks to Big Bang Theory 😉

    1. Ohh though question as I haven’t watched the trilogy in a while.

      I suppose the major difference between the trilogy and this film is that the trilogy were basically 3 films based on the spider-man storyline. The Amazing Spiderman tried to get more into the origin like with his parents etc.

      Action wise you definitely won’t be disappointed. This version of spiderman has really good action scenes and amazing visuals..

      Critics are definitely divided on this film.. But I say give it a shot.. If you don’t like it you can always turn it off and put on the trilogy in stead 😛

      Oh and also, and I cannot stress this enough.. Emma Stone!

  2. Is Emma Stone a damsel in distress like Mary Jane was? That and the emo Spidey in the third movie was the only downside to the original trilogy. Also, how was the film score? I love the original Spider Man trilogy theme so I’m wondering how it compares to the new one.

    1. Gwen (Emma) is definitely not a damsel in distress. This is also a reason why I love her more than Mary Jane. She’s actually as much of a hero as Peter is. Kinda.

      To be completely honest, I have no idea about the film score 😛 If anything it says something that I didn’t remember the music at all.. But I’m sure it was great 😛

Leave a Reply

