Keeping Track This Time

Everywhere I look I see reading challenges. On WordPress, on goodreads, everywhere. And not challenges like the Eclectic Reader Challenge like the one I’m doing. These are challenges concerning the amount of books you read in a year. Some people do 52, some people do a 100. “I can never do that” I thought, “I read because I like reading.. If there’s a sense of obligation attached to it, I won’t enjoy it anymore (or less in any case) and probably read way less that I normally would.” So I’m not doing that.

What I am going to do though, is keep track of the books that I read. That way, at the end of the year I can say “man, I read a lotta books this year. Go me” and if there’s not a lot of books on the list, I at least can keep track of when I read which book. It’s a win – win situation.

So, if you’re interested in what I have been reading, take a look at the page that says Books Read in 2013. Or just click on the link that I put there. Whichever you prefer.

Why am I doing this when I’m already writing book reviews on the books that I’ve read, you ask? Well, I don’t know. Because I enjoy lists. I once (or twice.. maybe even three times) made lists of every book and DVD I owned. It took hours. But also because there may come a time where I don’t review a book that I’ve read. I’m almost certainly not going to review re-reads anyway. At least not until I get to them, which may take me months.

So anyway, I’m keeping track this time. Please, comment if you have any questions, remarks or requests. Comments give me the warm and fuzzies.

While you do that, I’m gonna go to bed and play some BioShock. Byebye Mr. Bubbles

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

5 thoughts on “Keeping Track This Time”

      1. I hope :p The thing is, I have official exams by the end of this year, something like “OWLs”, and I don’t have much time to read. But I will be done by mid-June, so I guess I’ll read more then.

  1. Keeping track makes much more sense than aiming for a target. Also planning to do this (make a list), though I don’t do near as many reviews as you do. Also going to be doing a lot of non-fiction reading this year for my studies. I don’t think I’ll be keeping a list of those, as it won’t be cover-to-cover reads.

    1. Isn’t it, though? I think aiming for a target kinda sucks the fun out of it..

      I don’t know how much I will be able to read after my classes start again on Monday. I have a feeling that my reading will mostly exist of literary articles and what not.

Leave a Reply

