Book Review: The Fault in our Stars

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has brought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. 

— Fault in our Stars Blurb 

♦♦

Hazel is a 16 year old girl with cancer. She was diagnosed with stage 4 thyroid cancer that had spread to her lungs. Everyone was sure that she was going to die. In fact, there had been the whole dying scene where her mother told her it was okay and her dad said that he loved her and cried. But, somehow, Hazel didn’t die. She had gotten a drug, Phalanxifor, that gave her a miracle recovery and she lived. So now, she’s fine, sorta. Her lungs suck at being lungs and she has to walk around and sleep with a tank of oxygen.

Because of the whole cancer thing, Hazel is depressed and cynical. They say depression is a side effect of cancer but Hazel would say that it’s a side effect of dying. So, her doctor says that she should join a support group. The Cancer Kid Support Group is in a church shaped like a cross and the support group meets in the middle of the church, where the two boards would have met, where Jesus’s heart would have been. They are Literally in the Heart of Jesus. Something that Patrick, the testicular cancer survivor and group leader, says all the time. Hazel doesn’t like support group very much but she goes because her mother makes her. Something about having to get a life. Anyway, one day Augustus Waters shows up at Support Group, tagging along with his friend Isaac. Augustus is a drop dead gorgeous 17 year old with one leg, courtesy of a touch of osteosarcoma, and he can’t stop staring at Hazel.

Long story short they fall in love, go to Amsterdam, have a grand ol’ time before shit goes south.

♦♦

I am half tempted to go out on the street to literally shove this book  in people’s faces and shriek ‘READ IT. READ THIS BOOK’ but I’m not going to because I’m not a crazy person. What I am going to do, however, is write a rave review telling the whole of the internet to READ THIS FREAKING BOOK.

I bought The Fault in Our Stars because it was everywhere. It was such a big deal that I had to know what the fuss was about. I got in in the mail yesterday and read it in all of 5 hours. This is a record for me. It’s also an indicator as to how amazing this book is. I knew it from the first time that I opened the book. When I just got it in the mail I read the first couple of sentences from all three of the books that I got (The Fault in Our Stars, Beautiful Creatures & Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children) and I immediately got the feeling that I wanted to keep reading.

The Fault in Our Stars is a wonderfully written book, it is a book written for adolescents but with an edge. It has all these great words like ‘contemporaneity’ and ‘soliloquy’ and they reference the Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs complete with illustration. It’s definitely not your run of the mill Young Adult book.

It feels real, the characters feel real, the situations seem real. It’s not about a kid with cancer who is brave and fights till the day she dies. It’s realistic and raw and about how they all do what they can to keep themselves alive.

I laughed and cried and I loved and hated this book. I have half a mind to write to John Green, as Hazel wrote to Peter van Houten in the book, to ask what happened to Hazel after the book ended. But I’m not going to do that because I already know, unfortunately.

If you have read this book, pleas tell me what you thought of it in the comments. If you haven’t read this book, please read it and then tell me what you thought in the comments.

My favourite quotes from the book:

What a slut time is. She screws everybody”

and

That’s the thing about pain…it demands to be felt

Rating: 5/5

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fault in our Stars”

  1. I read this book for the same reason you did AND because John Green is one of my favorite YA authors. I felt the same way you did; the book made me laugh, cry, and hate John Green! I also wrote down quotes into a journal; one I can remember right off the bat is “My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.”

    BTW I reviewed this book last year but I’m too lazy to link to it, lol.

    1. That quote was one of my favourites, too! It’s not fair that someone so ill can come up with that one 😛 About halfway through the book I realized that I should have underlined or written down all the unusual words that I wanted to remember.

      I hate John Green for what he did to Gus but then again, I think he had to to make the book as good as it is.

  2. I read this book a few months back, and I’ve posted a review on my blog about it not long ago: http://eatreadexplore.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/review-the-fault-in-our-stars/
    I definitely understand why so many people, including you, thought it was such an amazing book, and I really did like it myself as well, but it just didn’t have quite the same effect on me. Not because I’m a cold hearted person, on the contrary, it made me bawl my eyes out. But, like I said in my review as well, I’ve a bit of a complicated relationship with this book. I do think it’s a great book though, and I would encourage people to read it.
    Also, I think it was very brave of John Green to tackle a painful and sensitive issue like this, and he did it really well. Not everyone could’ve pulled it off the way he did.

    1. I read your review and I’ve got a couple of thoughts but I’m going to comment on your own review to spare myself the pain of clicking between posts every two seconds 😛 .. See you over there!

Leave a Reply

