Day 07- A picture of someone/something that has the biggest impact on you

Day 07- A picture of someone/something that has the biggest impact on you

Abstract_34

Well, Abi, here you go. When I started blogging I said that I wasn’t going to do an Ode to Abi and you said that I should. The time has come. Here it is.. My ode to Abi. Beware for extreme sappiness

74000_1480867709697_1473957545_31314306_6643244_n

I met Abi on September 12th 2010. I had been in England for several days, settling into living on campus, finding out where everything is and such. Up till then I had been alone in on my floor. Because I was an international student, I arrived a couple of days earlier than the local students so I was kinda glad that people started moving in that Sunday because let me tell you, the quiet was getting to me.

I first saw her in the communal kitchen where I introduced myself. When we laid eyes upon each other time stood still and the hallelujah chorus sounded in the background. But not really. In fact, I had to introduce myself to her several more times that day because she kept forgetting who I was and that she had in fact, already met me.

I first knew that we were going to be really good friends on the Friday of ‘Freshers Week’. We were at an open Mic night and somehow, I don’t exactly remember how, but somehow we (she) decided that I wasn’t allowed to look at anyone but her for the rest of my life. So, when the time came to go back to our dorm, she lead me across campus while holding her hands in front of my eyes. I swear, I had never laughed so hard in my life.

From there on out we just grew on each other more and more. We had the most ridiculous conversations (what would YOU do if a serial killer walked through the door right now?), we memorized duets from Glee (namely ‘Baby it’s cold outside’) and we communicated with each other by knocking on the wall that connected our two rooms. We stayed up till 4 am because we just had too much fun to go to bed.

It was our other hall-mate, Luke, who first suggested that we were like sisters separated at birth and we immediately took the idea. At that specific moment we were making music by blowing into half empty cider/beer bottles at what.. 4:30 am, plotting a Halloween scare on another hall-mate of ours. But, after that, we would really see each other as sisters.

It was so hard to leave for home in December 2010. I was really going to miss her so so much and I still do. In fact, I spend to first 3 months of our ‘separation’ writing in a diary addressed to her. I gave it to her when I came back to visit in March.

We’ve been friends for about 2,5 years now, despite the fact that we don’t see each other a lot. Even if we don’t speak to each other often for a while, I know that she will always be my best friend and my sister. You have those friends that you’re close with but then you lose touch. It’s never going to be like that, I just can’t imagine it. Abi & I will be best friends when we’re both old and gray. One of my prime priorities in life right now is to find a way to live with her again. It would mean that I would have to move abroad but so be it.

But anyway, Abi has been the person that has had the biggest impact to me because of this: she made me find myself. When I first got to England I was so insecure, I just wasn’t comfortable with myself but somehow through her friendship, Abi has changed that. I don’t really know how to explain it. I guess that, by being so close, I discovered that I am .. I don’t know.. good enough to have such a strong bond with. I don’t mean to sound overly dramatic but hey. I can be myself around her and she still loves me no matter what. I think. Right, Abi?

True Love isn’t just for lovers, it’s for friends as well. She is my soulmate and my sister and my best friend.

Here’s a song that I found on Tumblr a couple of days ago. It describes best friend love perfectly (: It goes like this:

I know there’s lots of kinds of love in the world
They’re not all romantic and not all for boys and girls
But what we have doesn’t have a .. definition
Because I love you just as much as I hate my college tuition
And we’re basically like dating but without all that romance
Don’t get me wrong, I think you’re pretty but I don’t want in your pants

It’s just that I’m in best friend love with you so I wrote this song for you
And I know you think it’s weird, it’s true
But, I’m in best friend love with you
And, I think we should go all the way in that 100 percent friendzone way
And, I can’t get you out of my head
And, as long as we’re in separate beds, I wouldn’t mind to spend the rest of life with you

Like, maybe we would work if we were single and we’re gay
But, what I’m really trying to say is
I don’t love you like Shang loves Mulan
You’re the Robin Hood to my Little John
And, I love you like autotune loves T-pain
Like a prostitute loves crack-cocaine
I love you like Batman wishes his parents hadn’t died
Like, Anne Frank wanted to fucking go outside

You’re more than my best friend,
You’re my partner in crime
That I never ever make out with except for that one time

And I know you think it’s weird, it’s true
but, I’m in best friend love with you
And, I think we should go all the way in that 100 percent friendzone
And, I can’t get you out of my head
And, as long as we’re in separate beds, I wouldn’t mind to spend the rest of life with you

Best friend love..
Best friend love..

Love you, Darling 😉

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

4 thoughts on “Day 07- A picture of someone/something that has the biggest impact on you”

Leave a Reply

