Day 04- A habit that you wish you didn’t have

Day 04- A habit that you wish you didn’t have

Abstract_34

The only habit that I really really wish I didn’t have is that I worry so much. This specifically happens at night when I’m in bed and I’ve just closed my eyes to go to sleep. As soon as I try to relax, all these thoughts start going through my head. All the things that I haven’t done yet, the things that I forgot to do, thinking that the things that I have done weren’t good enough. I worry about what people think of me, about the stupid and embarrasing things I have done in the past 22 years of my life. I think about all the negative possibilities that could happen in my life. I think about failing my degree or writing a crap research report. I worry and worry and worry and worry.

I try to turn my brain of by firmly saying to myself “NO. Just No. Stop thinking. It’s OK.” and then I sing a song or something. If this doesn’t help, I turn the light back on and read my book some more.

What really sucks about this is that my worrying causes stress and the stress causes me to clamp my jaw shut while I’m sleeping. So instead of waking up all refreshed and what not, I wake up with a painful jaw and sore teeth. It sucks ass I tell you.

I really need to start doing meditation or something.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

2 thoughts on “Day 04- A habit that you wish you didn’t have”

  1. Agggh god I do this too! My brain seems to go into overload at nighttime, whether it’s a lightbulb moment, an idea for a blog post or worrying about every little thing on oh…say the PLANET. -_- I always give myself jaw ache the next day as well because sometimes I just can’t let my body relax. Sometimes I can’t even stop doing it when I read! Tragic.

  2. Aww man, what you need is to read about how to practice REBT! Cured me of excess worry, works great. Also (I don’t usually like to link to my articles in comments but this one’s relevant) here’s something that might help:

    http://rohan7things.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/how-to-silence-self-critical-inner-voices/

    And seriously look up “Albert Ellis REBT ABC exercise” it’s very good for this kind of thing!

    Good luck, I hope you find some peace during your nights soon Emma 🙂

    Rohan.

Leave a Reply

