DAY 30. – Book you couldn’t put down.

DAY 30. – Book you couldn’t put down.

30 day book challenge

I don’t know what to say.. Has it only been 30 days or has it been 30 days already? The time amount of days that I spent doing this challenge feel so much longer than a month to me. Fair enough, I skipped a couple of days but still it hasn’t been that much longer. But, on the other hand, it also feels like a month has flown by. It’s like a time paradox.

Excuse me if my writing doesn’t make a lot of sense today, I think I’m getting ill. Last night, I was so tired after work that I slept for 14 hours. That’s not normal, is it? So, if things don’t make sense today, I’m sorry.

A book that I definitely wasn’t able to put down was ‘The Help’. I read it in 2009 or 2010, when a girl that I was doing my internship with was reading the Dutch edition of the book. I was so intrigued with the book that I had to have it. I’ve always been fascinated with segregation and Apartheid, doing projects about it in school and everything.

After I started reading ‘The Help’, I couldn’t put it down. It was so interesting and compelling and well written. ‘The Help’ is written from the view of 3 women, Aibileen, Minny and Skeeter. Aibileen and Minny are black women who clean the houses and raise the children of rich white women. Skeeter is a young white woman who has just finished her degree. Her dream is to become a writer or a reporter. When Skeeter starts to notice the injustice that is done to the black women in her town, she decides to write a book. Aibileen and Minny end up helping her, even though they refused at first. In the end, a lot of maids help Skeeter write the book. A book that causes quite a stir when it is published in Jackson, their hometown.

The book sets in the early 1960s, when racism and discrimination towards African -american people where at a all time high in the south. But this book is about overcoming those differences and obstacles and seeing through the color of a person’s skin.

The Help is an amazing book that isn’t only compelling, it’s also very interesting. Reading about the customs and even laws that prohibited white people to socialize with black people kept me glued to the book as much as the story line did. When I was reading this book I realized that it was the first time in ages that I had encountered a book that I was looking forward to reading it. I was seriously sad when the book ended, I just wanted to read so much more.

And yes, I did like the film. I thought they did a great job in adapting the book. I was very happy with it.

Skeeter, Minny and Aibileen

 

And with that, the challenge is over *sob*. Thanks for sticking with me and I hope that you’ll like the 30 Day About Me Challenge, too. But, really, I need to find another book challenge. I just like talking about books. Books forever! Yay!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

6 thoughts on “DAY 30. – Book you couldn’t put down.”

    1. Haha I have got the same problem 😛 If you can’t talk about books, what can you talk about?! Hm, I guess I could still talk about books but it’s harder to come up with topics this way 😛

      1. I don’t know what else to talk about. I am still posting chapters from my novel, but this is not enough. I guess I’ll search some stuff and see what I find.

Leave a Reply

