DAY 23. – Best book you’ve read in the last 12 months.

DAY 23. – Best book you’ve read in the last 12 months.

30 day book challenge

Dear Challenge,

Do you have any idea how many books I read a year? Because I don’t. I don’t make lists of which book I read when. I read The Help in 2010 and if I don’t specifically think about it, I could have sworn I read it this year for the first time. I read too many books to keep track of this. I don’t know! Also, the books I read are so different, how would I be able to compare them? How do you decide which is better; a romance novel like ‘One Day’ by David Nichols or literary fiction like ‘One flew over the cuckoo’s nest’ by Ken Kesey. It’s like comparing apples and oranges, both fruit but totally different. Don’t be offended if you think that literature like ‘One flew..’ isn’t in the same league as some airy romance novel and shouldn’t be compared in any scenario. I’m asked the question so in some way or other I will have to compare books like Catcher in the Rye to books like Prep.

Anyway.. I’m going to try. Just let met think for a second.

Okay. I’m going to go with the book ’19 minutes’ written by Jodi Picoult. I’ve talked about Jodi Picoult being one of my favourite writers before (see here and here and here) but of the books that I have read by her, 19 minutes is quite possibly my favourite. It is certainly the one that spoke the most to me.

19 minutes is about a young boy named Peter who gets bullied 19 minutesand tortured in school. One day, he can’t take it anymore and brings a gun to school, getting revenge on all the people that have made his life so unbearable. After leaving several students dead and even more wounded, Peter is arrested. 19 minutes is how long it took to walk into a high school and kill 10 people and wounding 19 others. The book is about if Peter should be held accountable for his actions, after being bullied incessantly his whole life. The attorney in the book suggests that Peter’s state of mind is comparable to a woman in an abusive relationship; being physically abused so often and viciously that violence towards his attacker should be viewed as self-defence.

What I found so impressive about this book is that there is no right or wrong. Well, there is right and wrong but you can’t say for 100% certain who is the victim and who is the perp. I’m not saying that bringing a gun to school and firing it is the way to go, but I do agree – to a certain extend – with the use of the Battered Person Syndrome in this book. As I said; intriguing. Very impressing. It stays with you.

So, yes that is the one of the best books that I have read in the past year. Note: one of the best. Not the best.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

5 thoughts on “DAY 23. – Best book you’ve read in the last 12 months.”

Leave a Reply

