DAY 22. – Least favourite plot device employed by way too many books you actually enjoyed otherwise.

DAY 22. – Least favourite plot device employed by way too many books you actually
enjoyed otherwise.

30 day book challenge

I have to say.. I haven’t read a lot of books and thought ‘eugh.. oh my god this is sooooo obvious’ (imagine the spoiled rich kid accent or maybe the malibu accent). I guess there are a couple of books, mostly romantic novels, that employ the plot device of ‘everything goes well, shit goes down, they make up and live happily ever after’. But I have to be honest, I don’t read a lot of books that use that plot device.

So.. I think that I can’t really answer this one. I guess that if it’s actually a good book, you don’t really notice if they use a cliché plot device.

I totally get that feeling with movies though. I remember watching ET with my parents when I was really young and at the beginning of the movie I was like ‘but I just KNOW that he’s gonna go back in the end so why should I watch the movie anyway?!’ or something similar and I got really angry. Because, why watch a movie if you already know how it’s going to end? But I have since grown up and learned to enjoy movies even if I do know how they’re going to end. For example the movie ‘what’s your number’ with Chris Evans. I knew they would get together in the end but I sat down and enjoyed the movie anyway because Chris is hot. Oh and the story was kinda funny, too, I guess.

whats your numbwer

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

