DAY 21. – Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished).

DAY 21. – Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t
actually finished).

30 day book challenge

Oh Challenge.. do I really need to start shaming myself now? Okay.. so a book that I tell people that I’ve read but I actually haven’t… I don’t know. There are loads of books that I started to read but then haven’t finished; LOTR, The Hobbit, 1984, Jane Eyre, The collector.. I could keep going. But I can’t think of one that I’m actively lying about..

No, wait I have. But I don’t lie about it anymore. When I was in high school I needed to read 7 books for Dutch and then I had to do an oral report on all of these books. For some stupid mindless reason I chose to read Lolita in English for my Dutch class. Wait, what? Yes. An English book written by a Russian writer for a Dutch class. Because fuck logic. Don’t blame me. Blame adolescent me.

I got about halfway (ehm.. maybe not even that far) through the book and then I gave up. However, I did have to do an oral report on the book so I lied through my teeth and answered the questions as well as I could. And I passed! Yay! Please don’t tell my teacher. Well, you can try. I wouldn’t be able to tell you his name if I wanted to. I have long since forgotten (repressed) the names of my teachers.

So yea, I lied about reading Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. I confess. There you have it.

I’ll read it some day though. Probably. Maybe.

lolita

While we’re talking about Lolita and 16 year old me; here is another blast from the past:

Alizee – Moi Lolita

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

3 thoughts on “DAY 21. – Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished).”

    1. Haha it’s a part of life, isn’t it? Cheating on an exam that is 😛 Like a right of passage 😛

      I will totally finish Jane Eyre. I don’t even know why I stopped reading in the first place .. It was really good. I’m just weird like that

  1. Pingback: A Wordless Blogger

Leave a Reply

