DAY 19. – A favourite author

DAY 19. – A favourite author

30 day book challenge

I swear I was going to do this post yesterday but out of nowhere my mom decided that she had to make a dessert that involved warming cherries in red wine and then flambéing them with some other 40% liquor. After that, I was kinda tipsy and I thought that it wouldn’t be the best thing if I would keep writing because it would either turn out really bad or really inappropriate.

While on the subject, those who know me know that I rarely drink and never have been really drunk. And, to be honest, I don’t see why people would want to get absolutely hammered. I just can’t get past that tipsy stage when you’re just feeling dizzy and light headed. As soon as that hits I just want it to go away. I guess I’m also too practical to allow myself to be drunk. I’m always concerned with getting home and being safe and I’d not want my judgement to be clouded. Other than that, I don’t like the taste of alcohol. I rather have something to drink that I can take a few good swallows of instead of having to sip. No.. no drunkenness for me.

Anyway.. back to why we are here. I’m supposed to name my favourite author. That’s impossible. I mean, there are so many awesome books and writers, I can’t possibly choose one. Those who read my blog somewhat regularly will not be surprised by this list as I talk about them all the time. =P But these are my favourite authors:

1. J.K. Rowling 

2. Stephen King

3. Jodi Picoult

4. Jim Butcher

Yea, that’s about it. Those are the big 4. These four writers have pretty much everything that I need in the world. Apart from air and sustenance. Yea, you got your Teen angsty magic school with awesome adventures with wands. Then, there’s the ultimate mater of Horror. Next there is the one who writes about important social issues that appeal to me as a pedagogue and finally there’s the awesome fantasy/mystery writer who created Harry Dresden who saves the world at least twice a year. Need I say more?

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

7 thoughts on “DAY 19. – A favourite author”

  1. This comment has got nothing to do with favourite authors, and everything to do with alcohol. You know I said exactly what you said, and you know I ended up not being able to walk in your ex-boyfriend’s back garden (and later on actually in public). It’s fine. Let it go. Enjoy the buzz. Actually both times it happened when I drank really really quickly (like the amount I’d normally drink on a night out) and then slowed down but didn’t stop. By the time I stopped, it was too late. You should try it. It’s fun XD

    1. Haha yea but I drank at least as much as you did that night and I still was not as pissed as you! I’d never be able to get to that stage because I just can’t make myself do it. Unless I take like multiple shots back to back.. eugh.. I don’t like not being in control. 😛 Maybe when I’m there this summer..

  2. Since I only recently came across your blog I was unaware of the fact that you were a Jodi Picoult fan and I’m just…relieved and so…happy because I’m surrounded by people who don’t read her books and are missing out on all the good stuff. I know she has sold more than a million copies, but I’ve never really known anybody who reads her novels and I’m just glad someone in my knowledge of existence understands the intensity of her stories :’)

    1. Hi! First of all thanks for commenting!

      I know exactly how you feel! Somehow I can never find anyone who has read some specific book that I’m just dying to talk about even though it says ‘New York Times Best seller’ or something similar on the book cover!

      I absolutely adore Jodi Picoult. I feel that she has the balls to write about things that no-one else has the balls to write about.

      What is your favourite book written by her?

      Also, if you like you can check out this post that I wrote about House Rules:
      https://awordlessblogger.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/bookworm-recommendations/

      1. No problem! I couldn’t contain myself, really.

        Ditto.

        My favorite book by her is definitely The Pact. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve read it and every single time I do, I have chills running down my spine. The first time I read it, it took me more than a month before I could read another book because I was scared the next book I read wouldn’t be half as good as it!
        What about yours?

      2. I think my favourite book is 19 minutes. I don’t exactly know why but it just had such an impact on me. The confusion of looking at it from both sides.. both the shooter and the victims. It’s heart breaking.

Leave a Reply

