Day 16: Most thought-provoking book

DAY 16. – Most thought-provoking book.

30 day book challenge

Hello world! How’s 2013 treating you so far? Now that all those pesky things we call holidays are behind us, I can once again focus on what’s really important: maintaining my blog. Just kidding 😉 the holidays were great and awesome and I want it to be Christmas every day and I don’t want to go back to school yet. Anyway.. I’ve fallen a bit behind on the 30 day book challenge so I’m going try to catch up. Other than that I have some other things coming up but I guess you’ll see those when I post them.

The most thought provoking book that I have ever read was ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest‘. I decided to read it because I knew the story is about an psychiatric hospital  and I always find those stories very interesting, which is why I have read Girl, interrupted, Jan Rap en z’n Maat and why the Bell Jar is still on my to-read list. However, when I started to read One flew over the Cuckoo’s nest, I discovered that although the story on the surface is indeed about a mental hospital and it’s inhabitants, it’s also about the world and society in which we live.

It really was one of the best books that I have ever read. It was really insightful and the symbolism was amazing. You read both about the workings of a mental hospital and about the outside world. If you think about the situations that happen every day all around us, and compare these to the situations as described in the book, you are bound to see some likenesses. Thus, the most thought-provoking book that I have ever read.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

4 thoughts on “Day 16: Most thought-provoking book”

  1. I agree that One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s nest is an excellent read, as is The Bell Jar which is even more poignant because of Sylvia Plath’s life and eventual death. Girl Interrupted is on my to-read list and I am determined to read it this year.

    1. Girl, interrupted was a really good book but it wasn’t as exciting as the movie made it out to be. But it is really interesting because she actually wrote it when she was in the facility. Nothing beats One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest though

Leave a Reply

