My 2012: a year of average.

Well.. it’s almost that time of year again. In 2 days we’ll all be sipping (chugging?) champagne and celebrating the birth of a new year. As we’ve all survived the supposed apocalypse, I guess we all have to start making plans and promises again. But before I do that, I’ll look back on my 2012.

It always amazes me how much life can change in 365 days. This time last year, I was in England at my (ex)boyfriends house to celebrate the new year together. Little did I know then, that four months later I’d be a newly single woman. It was definitely for the best but you know how these things go. In any case, it wasn’t the happiest of starts. However, I got over it and wrote the first draft of my bachelor thesis in a week. Something that I’m still incredibly proud of. It took me quite a while longer to actually finish but the first draft was done and I finished the (school)year without any further trouble.

The summer was pretty uneventful for me, I worked and relaxed and generally had a good vacation. Nothing too special though.

In the fall I started my masters degree, which was a lot of work before it even started. The reading assignments were so big that I barely had time to work, let alone have a social life. So, I threw myself into my studies and it payed off. I passed both classes so far this year, something I’m happy with. Then, in November, my workplacement (internship) started. I’m working at a secondary school I love it there. I get along great with the other teachers and the students that I have been working with have been very nice overall. I have, once again, been reaffirmed in the belief that I want to work in a secondary school. It even made me think about doing a teaching course. If I was going to be a teacher, I’d want to teach social studies. I am still thinking if I should do it, yes or no. On the one hand, I’m fairly young (22 yrs) and if I wanted to do another degree, I’d have the time. Maybe I’d even be too young to be hired for a position I’m qualified for. On the other hand, I’ve been in higher education for 6 years now (4 years bachelor, a pre-master year and the master course itself) and I’m kind of done with being a student. I think I”m ready to get out there. Anyway, it’s something to think about.

And that’s about it.. As you can see, my 2012 hasn’t been that eventful. Mostly, it’s the academics that have been important this year and not much else. That’s okay, though. It’s not a bad thing to make sure that you get a good education. You may have noticed that I’m not the typical student; I don’t drink much, don’t go out much. Overall I’m just a quiet girl who likes to make sure that I have a good future to look forward to. Just have to be careful that by looking towards the future, I forget about the present. But that’s all in my hands.

I want a lot of things for 2013. Not all of them are realistic. I’d love to take a year off after (hopefully) graduating this year but where am I going to get the money? Other than that.. yea.. I could name loads of things. I’d like to read more books, to see more movies, to travel more, to fall in love again, to move out, to get a great job, to really help someone. But, to be completely honest, I’m not one for planning far ahead. I take life as it comes from day to day. I do my best and I try hard and I’ll see what it’ll get me.

Here’s to a great 2013!

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

4 thoughts on “My 2012: a year of average.”

Leave a Reply

