Day 12: A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t

DAY 12. – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t.

30 day book challenge

This question I cannot answer with just naming one book. I have a whole list of books that I have been wanting to read for a long long time now. It’s pretty much your basic American high school reading list (I think). See, the Dutch school system wasn’t really good in educating us on British and American literature. At least it wasn’t when I was in school. We had to read 3 books, 1 we could choose ourselves, “My uncle Oswald” by Roald Dahl (How inappropriate is that?) and Macbeth by William Shakespeare. That’s it. The book that I chose to read was “the sisterhood of the travelling pants”. Not much literature there. So that’s why there are a lot of books on this list of which people may think “shouldn’t you have read this in High school?”.  The answer is yes, I probably should have. But, I didn’t. Here’s the list:

  • To kill a Mockingbird
  • The Great Gatsby
  • 1984
  • Animal Farm
  • Lord of the Flies

    IMG413
    Yay! New Books!
  • Treasure Island
  • Wuthering Heights
  • Oliver Twist
  • Jane Eyre
  • Catch 22
  • The bell jar
  • Lord of the Rings
  • The Hobbit
  • The Mysterious Island
  • Journey to the center of the Earth
  • Phantom of the Opera
  • Sense & Sensibility
  • Mansfield Park
  • Persuasion
  • Northanger Abbey
  • Gulliver’s Travels
  • Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy (whole series)
  • Moby Dick
  • Rebecca
  • Sherlock Holmes collection
  • Ordinary People
  • I never promised you a Rose garden
  • Stardust
  • Of Mice and Men
  • For Whom the Bell Tolls

And after that there are many many more. Including the ones that I’m going to read for the Eclectic Reader Challenge. This list just keeps growing and growing. There really are so many books that I need to read. Last summer I read Catcher in the Rye (meh) and One flew over the cuckoo’s nest (loved it), so at least that’s something. I’ve written a review about One Flew over the Cuckoo’s nest. You can find that on the Book Reviews page. I should probably do the same for Catcher in the Rye. But then again, there are a lot of reviews that I still need to write. I really want to do the Hunger Games first. Soon, I promise.

Well, that’s it for today. I can’t promise I will continue posting during Christmas but I probably will. I know myself. However, if I don’t, I wish you a wonderful Christmas.

Now, if you will excuse me. I’m going to blast some Christmas Carols and and clean my kitchen. I’m hardcore like that.

May all your Christmas Wishes come true 🙂

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

2 thoughts on “Day 12: A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t”

  1. Haha, this looks a lot like my list!! 😛

    Really recommend Wuthering Heights and The Hobbit! Classics can be hard work, but they’re usually worth it in the end. 🙂

    I’m pretty much trying to do the same thing as you are, even though I’m British we barely read any books for English, so annoying!!! We did Of Mice and Men and Romeo and Juliet (blagh)

    1. I really want to read The Hobbit so badly! I really need to sit down and concentrate and just do it. It’s such an amazing book, I really don’t know what’s keeping me.

      You know, European schools just need to change that! Or at least British and Dutch schools! We’ve missed out on so much, haha!

Leave a Reply

