Day 11: Favourite classic book

DAY 11. – Favourite classic book.

30 day book challenge

I haven’t read a lot of the real classics. But of those I have read, Pride and Prejudice is my favourite. I realize this is one of the easy answers but hey, I don’t have a lot of other options. What I love about Pride and Prejudice is well.. everything. I love the weird mother and the proper father, the love between Jane and Mr. Bingley, Elizabeth’s smartness, the scandal of Mr. Wickham and Lydia, the strange Mr. Collins.. I could go on. I love the way Austen writes about love in the face of adversity, falling for each other despite the differences in upbringing and class. Even when two people seem to dislike each other thoroughly, they can end up loving each other if given the chance.  It’s a ‘love conquers all’ story and it’s the kind of story I’m very fond of.

Now, I’m probably going to be prosecuted for this but I did actually like the Keira Knighley version of Pride and Prejudice. I realize that the script may have been ‘moderend-up’ a little bit. I’m pretty sure that Elizabeth wasn’t screaming at Darcy after he proposed to her. And I also think there wasn’t any actual kissing in the book. Anyways, I did like the film. I was most fond of Rosamund Pike who played Jane. I thought she was the best of all. I also really liked Matthew Macfadyen as Mr. Darcy. I think it’s a good portrayal of the book although probably not as good or accurate as the BBC mini-series. I do have to admit that I never watched the mini-series all the way through.

I am ashamed to say that I haven’t read more by Jane Austen. I have read Emma (I felt obligated to) but that’s about it. I started Mansfield Park once but I got distracted by something shiny and forgot about it. Every time I watch the Jane Auten Book Club I feel so inspired to read all the books at the same time but somehow it never seems to happen. I think I’m going to make a list of books that I have to read and call it my New Years resolution. Gosh, I really need to read more classic books. Especially the Lord of the Rings & The Hobbit. I have to, have to, have to.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife”  

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

10 thoughts on “Day 11: Favourite classic book”

  1. “I started Mansfield Park once but I got distracted by something shiny and forgot about it.” Ha ha! Story of my life 😛

    I actually preferred Emma to Pride and Prejudice, but I still thought P&P was good. I’m slowly making my way through all of them. I started Sense and Sensibility when I was a lot younger, but I only got about a third of the way through ’cause I got a little bored lol.

    Also, I’ve never seen the BBC version but I didn’t like the Keira Knightly one! Although, it’s pretty darn cool because a lot of it was actually filmed just down the road from me! So when I watch it I see all these places I used to walk around regualy during my childhood. 😛

    1. Haha! It happens to me so many times! So many books that I started reading and then somehow forgot about.. I really need to kick that habit 😛

      Emma was great (hehe I always like saying that) but I really loved P&P. There’s something about the romance in that book that makes me swoon. I just really need to read all of them.

      That is so cool! I’m so jealous! The scenery is so beautiful in that movie, I can’t imagine actually living there. Gosh..
      Why didn’t you like the Keira Knightley one?

  2. Watching the Jane Austen Book Club always makes me feel the same way. Her books are a welcome change from the fast paced world we live in, but I have yet to do an Austen marathon and I’m thinking I should.

      1. After reading your post yesterday I did watch the movie again last night. I have a stack of things lined up to finish reading and editing of my own to do in January. But when the furor dies down I think a nice Jane Austen marathon might be in order. I’d love to have a book club like that. 🙂

      2. Haha, can I just say that I love that I inspired you to do something? Even if it was just watching a movie 😛 This makes me feel really good for some reason. I think Jane Austen is just the thing to go to when trying to relax from a stressful period! Seems like just the thing to do 😉

      3. You’ll be happy to hear then that your post also inspired me to pick up a book I found on a remainder table earlier this year, Cassandra & Jane by Jill Pitkeathley. I’m not too far into it yet, so I won’t comment on it, other than to say it’s a novel based on the relationship between Jane Austen and her sister.

        You’re right that anything Jane Austen is a welcome change from the stresses of modern existence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

