At the ballet: Swan Lake

Yesterday, I went to see the Swan Lake ballet with my mom. It was the first ballet I have ever seen. No, wait, that’s not true. I saw the Nutcracker when I was really young but I don’t remember anything about it. Except maybe that I was scared of the rats.

I was really excited about seeing Swan Lake. I was really curious if I would love it as much as I thought I would. Turns out, I did. From start to finish it was completely mesmerising. So beautiful and tragic and so exquisitely danced. I have to be honest, it wasn’t perfect, sometimes the dancers weren’t all that synchronized and at one point one guy almost slipped. However, all the women were so beautiful and graceful. The choreography was amazing. It was truly magical.

Odette from Swan Lake

The girl who played Odette/Odile was (of course) extremely talented (and thin but that’s ballerina’s for ya). When she played Odette she was sweet and demure with such a sadness about her. Then, when she played Odile, the daughter of the evil Von Rothbart who is Odette’s doppelgänger, she was enchanting and seductive with a beautifully cunning smile on her face. The difference between the two was so big, it was hard to believe it was the same girl. What made it even more beautiful was that both the Odette and the Odile role fit her like a glove. When you see her act like that, you would never doubt that is her actual personality.

I especially loved the Odile part. Odile, also known as the Black Swan, comes to the party dressed as Odette in order to deceive the prince (Siegfried) in order to break his vow of love to Odette. The dance of the Black Swan was so beautiful and exciting. Especially the famous pirouettes. I’m sorry if this is not the right term, I know next to nothing about ballet. Anyway, I was stunned. So amazing.

Odile, the black swan.

My second favourite part of the ballet was the dance of the little swans. The women who danced this were simply perfect. It was all so perfectly timed and flawless. I really watched slack-jawed. When they exited the stage my mother whispered to me: Let’s see you do that. Yea.. not in a million years. I wish.

But yea, turns out I loved it as much as I thought I would. All the dancers were amazing, the musicians were perfect. I was completely enchanted when it was over. I have to say, I didn’t think it would happen but at the end, I was in tears. I didn’t think that was likely to happen but I was wrong.

I’m completely, 100% sure I will go to the ballet more often. I really want to see Giselle. I think I’m hooked.

These pictures are not of the dancers I saw last night

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

4 thoughts on “At the ballet: Swan Lake”

    1. It was so beautiful! It’s a shame tickets are so expensive or I would be going a lot more often. I was really lucky my mom offered to take me. Totally mesmerizing! If you have the opportunity to go, definitely do it!

Leave a Reply

