Day 6: Book you’ve read the most number of times

DAY 6. – Book you’ve read the most number of times.

30 day book challenge

Ugh.. Am I going to have to say Harry Potter again? If I’m honest then yes, I’d have to. My copy of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is literally falling apart. And that’s saying something seeing as I also had a Dutch copy of HP&GoF before I started to read English books and that copy was falling apart as well.
However, In order to make this blog not exclusively about Harry Potter, I’m going to ignore the Potter series. At least in this specific post. Eliminating HP, the book that I’ve read the most is probably the Dutch book ‘Jan Rap en z’n maat’ (Jan Rap en his buddy) by Yvonne Keuls. I read this when I was fairly young, I think I was around 13 years old, and because of this book I realized for the first time what I wanted to do with my life. The book is about a youth home where kids who don’t have anywhere else to go, go to live for a period of time. It’s not exactly a homeless shelter or a mental institution, it’s somewhere in between. The protagonist is a woman who works at the house and meets loads of different kids with different stories and tries to help them.

What I liked about the book is that it describes so many different problems that teenagers can have. It reigned from homosexuality to abuse to teenage pregnancy to mental instability to violence to drugs to stealing and so forth. Reading about this and how the people who work at the house deal with these sort of problems made me realize that that is what I want to be doing.

When I first read that book I decided that I wanted to study psychology. Unfortunately I didn’t go to the right secondary school level (the Dutch educational system is complicated.. If you want me to explain, leave comment 🙂 ) and I couldn’t do a psychology degree. Then, I chose to study Pedagogy (Educational Science) and focused mostly on pedagogy in secondary school. After a couple of internships it was clear to me that that was the setting that I wanted to work in. I don’t really have a great connection with kids of primary school age but I love working with secondary school kids. I mostly want to focus on social problems (bullying, bad home situations, peer pressure etc.) as opposed to psychological issues such as autism and such. That’s the goal anyway, seeing as I’m still studying.

But, yeah. I loved this book so much and I read it so many times. It’s really great. And, it steered me in the right direction. It changed my life! What more can you ask from a book, really?

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

1 thought on “Day 6: Book you’ve read the most number of times”

  1. Pingback: A Wordless Blogger

Leave a Reply

