Day 5: Your ‘comfort’ book

DAY 5. –  Your “comfort” book.

30 day book challenge

Hmm.. this is a hard one. I don’t really have a ‘comfort’ book. Usually, I just read what I feel like at that time. I don’t have one specific book that I read when I want some comfort or when I’m sad or when I’m in a bad mood. I can pretty much lose myself in a book no matter what mood I’m in, as long as I really want to read that specific book. So I can still read a sad book if I’m sad myself. Does that make sense?

I guess if I have to make a choice of what my comfort book would be I would probably choose ‘The Confessions of a Shopaholic’ by Sophie Kinsella. Like I said in a previous post of the 30 Day Book Challenge, I pretty much devoured the books of this series when I was younger. It’s a great set of books full of humor and lovable characters. It can provide some distraction if that’s what you’re looking for. Becky (or Bex) is a young girl who makes all the wrong choices and ends up in financial trouble because of it. She is naive and sometimes plain dumb. However, Sophie Kinsella writes her in such a way that it’s not annoying but rather that you feel sympathetic towards her. I think that this wasn’t easy because it would be easy to turn Becky into a vain and selfish girl who doesn’t know what she’s doing and makes irresponsible decisions. Truth of the matter is that Becky is all those things. However, Kinsella writes her in such a way that all those traits are lovable instead of annoying. Anyway, that was the case for me. Of course there are some moments when you go ‘What Are You Doing?!?!’ when you read the books but somehow you say it with a smile instead of being irritated.

Sophie Kinsella also wrote some other great books if you don’t feel like thinking too much. For instance ‘The Undomestic Goddess’ about a young lawyer who makes a big mistake and runs away. She ends up taking a job as a maid, even though she doesn’t know anything about cleaning, with people who think she may not be able to walk and talk at the same time because she is so unintelligent, not knowing that she’s a lawyer with an IQ of 160. Another example would be ‘Remember me?’ about a girl who wakes up in the hospital not remembering anything that happened in the 3 years before. Both are great books if you feel like reading something informal and relaxing that makes you laugh and that isn’t all that serious.

Well that’s it for today, I guess.

See you tomorrow

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

3 thoughts on “Day 5: Your ‘comfort’ book”

    1. Haha, exactly!

      I think that what I read depends on what mood I’m in but if I’m reading a really good book, I’ll continue to read that no matter what mood I’m in. Good books are good books, right?

Leave a Reply

