Movie Review – The House at the End of the Street

house at the end of the street

“Newly divorced Sarah and her daughter Elissa find the house of their dreams in a small, upscale, rural town. But when startling and unexplainable events begin to happen, Sarah and Elissa learn the town is in the shadows of a chilling secret.” IMDB

This movie starts with Elissa – I thought it was Alissa during the whole movie which kinda reminded me of Silent Hill.. Although that was Alessa – moves to a small town with her mom after her parents divorce has been finalized. They move into a house with exceptionally low rent because it’s across from a house where a little girl murdered her parents years before.

Elissa didn’t really want to leave Chicago in the first place and this feeling intensifies when she finds out that the locals are not very nice. After an unpleasant encounter with one of the towns popular kids – Tyler – she meets Ryan, the brother of the girl who murdered her parents. Ryan is a shy but nice young man and he and Elissa hit it off straight away. What she doesn’t know though, is that Ryan has a secret.

DUN DUN DUN

This movie is not really scary and the plot is easy enough to figure out about halfway through the movie. Although I have to admit that it’s not 100% clear until the very last scene of the film. It does have a nice twist at the end and the action scenes are nice enough. Other than that I’m not really thrilled with this movie. Although I do like Jennifer Lawrence, she played her role really well I think. Max Thieriot also played the silent but deadly role very well. However, I do think that there was so much more they could have done with this movie. There isn’t a lot of interaction with the secondary characters and I’m kind of missing that. Why make a point of Elissa becoming friends with Jillian (Allie Macdonald) or that she gets asked to join a band if you aren’t going to do anything with it? I don’t really like filler scenes. Either do something with it or leave it out.

Something that did annoy me in this movie was how slow it moved in the crucial ‘scary’ moments. When Elissa is on the verge of discovering Ryan’s secret she has to walk down a couple of stairs and open a couple of doors and it moves.. so.. slow.. it was just so frustrating to the point of screaming at the screen “just walk down the fucking stairs already woman!!”.

All in all it’s not a bad movie. It’s alright to watch if there’s nothing else on but it definitely won’t win any awards. The story line is okay and the plot twist at the end is pretty nice. If any of you want to discuss the ending or the story line with me, please leave a comment. It took me a couple of minutes to figure it out but I think I got it now 🙂

Rating: 2,5/5

Oh and if any of you think Jennifer Lawrence is fat, you’re freaking insane ‘kay?

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

