Movie Review – Pitch Perfect

Pitch Perfect

The Barden Bellas are a collegiate, all-girls a cappella singing group thriving on female pop songs and their perfect looks. After a disastrous failing at last year’s finals, they are forced to regroup. Among the new recruits is freshman Beca, an independent, aspiring DJ with no interest in the college life. But after she meets Jesse, from the rival all-male a cappella group, Beca has a new outlook and takes it upon herself to help the Bellas find their new look and sound and get back into the competition.

Pitch perfect is about Beca, an aspiring DJ, who goes to college only to please her father, who is a professor there. When she is not behaving as he expects of her, he offers her a deal; if she joins a club and sticks it out, he will pay for her move to LA. Beca of course wants this more than anything and joins the Barden Bellas, a set in their ways a-cappella singing group whose leader has no interest in Beca’s creative input.

From the moment I saw the trailer for this film, I was like “I HAVE to see this”. See, I’m a musical junkie. I love musicals more than anyone else I know. So, when I learnt about this film, I was so excited. The storyline seemed awesome with the rebellious Beca joining the goody-two-shoes a-cappella singing group ‘The Barden Bellas’. Before the release of the film there was a clip on YouTube with the ‘riff-off’ scene from the film and I must have watched this clip dozens of times. All in all it seemed like the perfect film for me.

For the most part, I was not disappointed. It’s a great film if you’re in the mood for chick-flicky, light hearted, comedic musical with romantic lining. Anna Kendrick (Beca) is just amazing and her on screen connection with  Skylar Astin (Jesse) feels very real. Brittany Snow (Chloe) and Anna Camp (Aubrey) are the perfect leaders for the Bellas complete with phrases such as as ‘a-ca-scuse-me?’. Then, of course, there is the person who made this film as awesome as it was; Rebel Wilson who plays ‘Fat’ Amy. She was amazing in this movie and it is my opinion that without her, the movie would not have been as good as it was.

Yes, overall I’m pretty happy with this movie. However, there are some parts that I thought were very unnecessary. For instance, in the very beginning of the film, the Bellas – the generation before the arrival of Beca – lose the finals because Aubrey gets ill and pukes all over the front row. This was the very beginning of the movie. As in the first 5 minutes. Why, people, why?! Is this called entertainment nowadays? Is it mandatory to put in a disgusting scene such as that one? Something similar to this comes back later in the film and at that point I seriously debated if I should keep watching. It didn’t feel to me like it was in tune with the rest of the film, it felt like they put it in there to get some extra funnies that attract a different sort of audience. Yuck.

Also, I feel a bit let down in the music choices. The Bellas perform the same thing 3 times in the movie and I feel like the makers could have chosen to put in a bit more variation while still making their point about the Bella tradition. Also, the riff off should have been longer. But that’s just because I enjoyed it so much.

In the end, it’s a pretty great movie for a girls night out. It’s a great comedy which you can’t help but laugh at. Don’t take it all too seriously, it’s not that kind of movie. Just watch and enjoy.

Rating 4/5

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

2 thoughts on “Movie Review – Pitch Perfect”

  1. Everybody, except for Anna Kendrick, is funny and energetic and they all definitely make this movie a lot better than it had any darn right to be in the first-place. Good review.

    1. Thanks for the comment! I honestly thought Anna Kendrick wasn’t that bad. I think she played the role of the ‘outsider’ who isn’t interested in anything or anyone except her music pretty well. I agree that all the actors, especially Rebel Wilson, made the movie great. With movies like this one there’s always the risk that it becomes too sappy or peppy or something like that, but they avoided that. Not a bad end result at all 🙂

Leave a Reply

