Eclectic Reader Challenge!

Tonight has been a very exciting night for me. Why? Well, I just became aware of a reading challenge that I have to try. Unfortunately, I have found this out about a year to late and I can’t officially participate in the challenge. But, me being me I’m going to do this anyway.

The point of this challenge is that you come out of your comfort zone and read books that you wouldn’t ordinarily read. And then you write an review as well. This would actually be really good for me seeing as I do get sorta stuck in what I’m comfortable with. I’m a bed-reader, I read mostly in bed, at night, right before I go to sleep. This means that I’m usually tired and that I can’t or won’t focus on books that would be harder to read (i.e. Wuthering Heights, Oliver Twist, etc.). Therefore, this challenge is perfect. I challenge myself. Ha.

The challenge is that you read one book for each of the 12 categories that the creators have selected. For the 2012 challenge the categories are:

1. Literary Fiction

2. Crime/mystery Fiction

3. Romantic Fiction

4. Historical Fiction

5. Young Adult

6. Fantasy

7. Science Fiction

8. Non-Fiction

9. Horror

10. Thriller/suspense

11. Classic

12. Any book from your favourite genre

If you want to know which books I’m going to read you can click here. There you can also find the link to the original creator of the challenge and on the Eclectic Reader Challenge of 2013. Why am I not just doing the 2013 challenge you ask? Well, the categories are not the same and I feel that the categories from the 2012 challenge suit me a bit better at this time. It may well be that when I finish this challenge I will simply move on to the 2013 one.

Let me know what you think!

It’s now 2 am and I’m extremely tired.

Nightt!

xE.

Also; shout out to Becky, through whom I learnt about this challenge.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

Leave a Reply

