Bookworm recommendations

I am a major bookie. I love books. I love reading books, buying books and just looking at all the pretty books in my bookcase. It’s an addiction I tell ya. So that’s why I’m going be talking about books. Probably more than once. Today I’m going to do a recommendation.

If I were to pick a book from my bookshelves and say ‘This book. You HAVE to read this book!’, it would probably be.. ‘House Rules’ by Jodi Picoult. I love Jodi Picoult as a rule. I first discovered her books when I  read the Dutch version of ‘A perfect match’ which is about sexual abuse. What I like about her books is that she writes about the hard stuff. She’s not afraid to write about a topic that lots of writers stay far away from.

House Rules centres around Jacob and his family. Jacob is a teenager with Asperger’s Syndrome, which means that he can’t read social clues like sarcasm and has to have a strict routine in order to cope, amongst other things. He is obsessed with crime scenes and knows everything there is to know about detective work and forensic analysis. Then, his tutor dies and Jacob becomes a suspect. Of course, to the police, someone who can’t make eye contact, twitches and is restless and stressed are sure signs of guilt.

It’s not a very thrilling whodunnit book – I figured it out about half way through the book. What makes this book special is that it gives an amazing description on how it is to live with such a syndrome and how it is for the people who live closely to someone like that. The mother’s side of the story is especially gripping. There is this one scene that has always stayed with me. Jacob has a fit because the usual person at the super market isn’t where she is supposed to be and because this is not part of the usual routine, Jacob can’t handle it. His mother ends up having to pin her nearly adult son down in the middle of the store while everyone around them is watching and judging. It’s amazingly well written and it forces you to respect the people who live with this every day.

I guess this book appeals to me because I am a pedagogue which means that I have studied syndromes like these and I could work with kids like Jacob. While I have decided not to pursue that line of work, it is where my interests lie.

This is just one of the many Jodi Picoult books that I would recommend you to read. There are so many other great books written by her. For example;  ’19 minutes’ which is a story about a boy who shoots up his school after being bullied his entire life – also one of my favourites. Or ‘The Pact’ where a boy and girl decide to commit suicide together but one of the two survives. Of course, most people have heard about ‘My Sister’s Keeper’, read the book or seen the film. I loved the book, hated the film by the way. They screwed up the ending big time.

So please, go read House Rules. Maybe you’ll love it as much as I did.

Till soon, folks.

xE.

Author: EMK

Just blogging away in my free time while I try to make something of my life

4 thoughts on “Bookworm recommendations”

Leave a Reply

